Chapter 17

(Senate Bill 85)

An Act to modify the composition of the Retirement Laws Committee.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of South Dakota:

Section 1. That § 2-6-9 be AMENDED.

2-6-9. Appointment and terms of Retirement Laws Committee members--Political affiliations.

The Retirement Laws Committee shall consist of five members of the House of Representatives to be appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives and five members of the Senate to be appointed by the president pro tempore of the Senate. The members of the Retirement Laws Committee shall be appointed biennially for terms expiring on January first of each succeeding odd‑numbered year and shall serve until their respective successors are appointed and qualified. No more than three from each legislative body may be from the same political party The appointing authority shall appoint members to the committee proportional to a party's representation in the authority's legislative body. The minority party in each legislative body shall have at least one member.

Signed March 18, 2021

Catchlines are not law. (§ 2-16-13.1) Underscores indicate new language.

Overstrikes indicate deleted language.