Chapter 102

(Senate Bill 60)

An Act to revise the membership of the Law Enforcement Officers Standards Commission.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of South Dakota:

Section 1. That § 23-3-28 be AMENDED.

23-3-28. Law Enforcement Officers Standards Commission--Appointment--Terms of members.

There is hereby created a Law Enforcement Officers Standards Commission in the Office of the Attorney General. This commission shall consist of eleven thirteen members, eight of whom shall be appointed by the attorney general as follows: one person from the Division of Highway Patrol; one person who is a duly elected, qualified, and acting sheriff of this state; one person who is a duly appointed, qualified, and acting member of a municipal police department of this state; one member who is a certified tribal law enforcement officer; one person who is a member of the State Bar of South Dakota; one member recommended by the executive director of the Board of Regents; one member recommended by the South Dakota Municipal League; and one member recommended by the South Dakota County Commissioners Association. Two members of the commission shall be civilians appointed by the Governor after consultation with the attorney general. Civilians are defined as a person who is not currently or ever has been a certified law enforcement officer.

The attorney general on the first appointments shall appoint three members for terms of one year and four members for a term of two years; thereafter all appointments shall be for two years. The Governor shall appoint civilian members to terms of two years. An appointee is eligible to be reappointed.

Signed February 24, 2021

Catchlines are not law. (§ 2-16-13.1) Underscores indicate new language.

Overstrikes indicate deleted language.