For further information contact:

Matt Frame, Legislative Attorney

SD Legislative Research Council

500 East Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501

605-773-3251 24, 2021


PIERRE –The Senate Legislative Redistricting Committee and the House Legislative Redistricting Committee will hold their second joint meeting of the 2021 interim on Monday, August 30, 2021, at 10:00 a.m. (CT). The meeting is being conducted via electronic conference and in Room 414 of the State Capitol in Pierre, South Dakota, to allow for both remote and in-person participation.

The committees will receive an update on the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) Redistricting Conference; hear a report from the Technology Subcommittee; and discuss population deviance and conurbation areas. Public testimony will also be taken. The full agenda is available online.

Information regarding redistricting in South Dakota, including census numbers, laws, current maps, court cases, resources, and the South Dakota Redistricting Timetable for 2021, is available on the LRC website at

The Senate Legislative Redistricting Committee is chaired by Senator Mary Duvall (R-Pierre) with vice chair Jim Bolin (R-Canton). Members include Senators Casey Crabtree (R-Madison), Michael Diedrich (R-Rapid City), Helene Duhamel (R-Rapid City), Troy Heinert (D-Mission), and Kyle Schoenfish (R-Scotland).

The House Legislative Redistricting Committee is chaired by Representative Spencer Gosch (R-Glenham) with vice chair Kent Peterson (R-Salem). Members include Ryan Cwach (D-Yankton), Drew Dennert (R-Aberdeen), Mike Derby (R-Rapid City), Jon Hansen (R-Dell Rapids), Liz May (R-Kyle), and Bethany Soye (R-Sioux Falls).



This meeting is being held in a physically accessible location. Any individual needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) in advance of the meeting to make further arrangements.All committee agendas and minutes are available on the LRC website: You may subscribe to electronic delivery of agendas and minutes at E-Subscribe on the LRC website.