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          South Dakota Legislative Research Council 
 
                  Issue Memorandum 98-02 Update 
  

 
STATE LEGISLATOR COMPENSATION 

 
Current Compensation 
 
Beginning on January 1, 1999, South Dakota’s 105 
lawmakers received an annual base salary of $6,000 
for each year of their term.  In cases where special 
sessions are called, the salary is equal to the daily 
amount earned during the regular session 
immediately preceding the special session ($6,000 ÷ 
35 days = $171.43; $6,000 ÷ 40 days = $150.00). 
 
Added to the base salary is a living expense 
allowance, travel reimbursement, and accidental 
death/dismemberment insurance. The living expense 
allowance is $95 for each day of session -- $3,325 
and $3,800 for the 35-day and 40-day sessions, 
respectively.  This allowance covers meals, lodging, 
laundry, basic office expenses, and other 
noncompensated costs associated with performing 
legislative services.  Travel reimbursement is 5 
cents per mile for one trip to and from session and 
29 cents per mile (current state rate set by the Board 
of Finance) for all travel required for legislative 
service thereafter. Accidental death/dismemberment 
insurance was added to the legislator’s 
compensation plan in 1990.  It provides each 
member with $200,000 coverage for accidental 
death or dismemberment 365 days a year. 
 
The Legislative Research Council Executive Board 
sets reimbursement for interim meals, interim 
lodging, and out-of-state travel at state rates. 
 
The Executive Board also sets policy regarding air 
travel.  Reimbursement is calculated on 29 cents per 
actual road mile or the commercial airfare, 
whichever is less.   Charter air travel must be 
arranged with LRC in advance and meet criteria set 
by the Executive Board. 
 

History 
 
In Article III, § 6 of the 1889 Constitution, all 
legislators were to be paid $5 per day for their 
service to the state.  They were also reimbursed 10 
cents per mile for one trip to and from session.   
 
In 1891, Governor Mellette’s message to the people 
began with this:   
 

“The State’s financial condition could 
scarcely be more embarrassing and her 
revenue system could scarcely be worse.”  
 

That same year the Legislature passed a resolution 
to reduce the mileage reimbursement from 10 cents 
to 5 cents per mile.   
 
In 1921, a $200 allowance was given to each 
legislator outside the Pierre area for living expenses.  
This action was challenged later that year in 
Christopherson v. Reeves based on Article III, § 6 
of the constitution which states “members of the 
Legislature shall receive no other pay or perquisites 
except salary and mileage.”  The Supreme Court 
ruled the $200 was expense money and not “pay.” 
 
All totaled, the early statesmen received about $500 
biennially plus mileage for a 60-day session.  
Attempts were made in 1915, 1917, 1919, 1921, 
1925, 1929, and again in 1931 to amend the 
constitution and provide various increases to 
legislator salaries, but all attempts failed.  
 
Finally, in 1946 a constitutional amendment was 
approved which permitted the Legislature to make 
salary changes statutorily. A campaign ad in the 
Pierre Daily Capitol newspaper encouraged people 
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to vote YES on the proposed constitutional 
amendment by saying: 
  

Suppose there was a law by which a South 
Dakota farmer had to pay his help at the 
same scale of wages his father or 
grandfather paid in 1889.  Such a law 
would, of course, be absurd.  Yet that is 
the way the state of South Dakota has had 
to do business. 
 

The long-standing $500 reimbursement level was 
changed in 1947 by a vote of 86,496 For and 48,911 
Against.  The reimbursement was changed that same 
year to $525 per session, but eliminated the $200 
expense allowance.  The reimbursement was 
increased again 10 years later to $900. 
 
A 1962 constitutional amendment prompted another 
change in compensation when the biennial legislative 
session was changed to an annual session.  
Legislators received $1,200 for a short session and 
$1,800 for a long session.  
  
Legislative salaries increased to $5,000 per two-year 
term in 1969 and remained relatively unchanged 
until 1988, when they were increased to $8,000. The 
1998 Legislature raised the salary to $6,000 per 
year effective in the year 1999.  The expense 
allowance was introduced in 1974 in the amount of 
$25/day and has increased to the current rate of 
$95/day. 
 
See page 4, History of Legislator Compensation in 
South Dakota. 
 
 
National Statistics 
 
The highest paid legislators in the United States are 
those of the District of Columbia, whose salaries are 
equal to the highest paid government official.  In 
January of 1995, the legislative compensation was 
$80,605.  New Hampshire has the lowest paid part-
time legislature, earning only $200 for a two-year 
term and receiving no allowance for travel or daily 
expenses. South Dakota, and most of the 
neighboring states, fits in with the group of 
legislatures that spends little time in session, are 

low-paid, and have small staffs.  There are 
approximately 18 legislatures1 in this category.  
 
Karl T. Kurtz, Director of State Services for the 
National Conference of State Legislatures, observed 
that states with low pay are strongly committed to 
the concept of a citizen legislature.  That 
commitment, however, does not change the fact that 
ordinary citizens can rarely afford 35-40 days away 
from their jobs and family. 
 
 
SUMMARY 
 
Legislative work does not begin with the fall of the 
gavel in January.  It is a full-time job with part-time 
pay.  Legislators often meet with constituents daily 
and then, of course, there are special sessions and 
interim meetings.  Furthermore, the job and the 
issues have become more complicated, requiring 
more and more time to study and craft bills.  
 
If South Dakotans want to keep their citizen 
legislature, then we must be willing to pay them 
enough to allow them to be away from their place of 
business; however, not so much as to turn them into 
full-time legislators.   

                                                        
1Small legislatures included in this group: Arkansas, 
Georgia, Idaho, Kentucky, Maine, Mississippi, 
Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North 
Carolina, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Dakota, 
Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming. 
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South Dakota vs. Neighboring States 
 

 

 
State 

Session 
Length 

 
Salary 

Expenses or 
Per Diem 

 
Travel 

 
Other 

South 
Dakota 

35- and 40-
day sessions 

Two-year salary 
of $12,000 

$95 per 
legislative day 

29 cents per 
mile 

Accidental death/ 
dismemberment 
insurance 

North 
Dakota 

Every other 
year for max 
of 80 days 

Two-year salary 
of $17,760 

$650 per month 
housing; $250 
per month 
additional 
compensation 

25 cents per 
mile 

Leaders receive 
additional 
compensation. 

Wyoming 40- and 20-
day sessions 

Two-year salary 
of $7,500 

$80 per calendar 
day 

35 cents per 
mile 

President and Speaker 
receive additional $3 
per day 

Nebraska 60- and 90-
day sessions 

Annual salary 
of $12,000 

$83 legislative 
day 

29 cents per 
mile 

Two full-time staff are 
provided to each 
member. 

Iowa Annual 
session of 
approx. 105 
days 

Annual salary 
of $20,120 

$86 per calendar 
day 

23 cents per 
mile 

$200 per month for 
additional expenses; 
state retirement plan 

Minnesota Annual 
session of 
approx. 120 
days 

Annual salary 
of $29,675 

$56 per day  31.5 cents 
per mile 

State retirement plan; 
Leaders receive 
additional 
compensation 

 
 
Source:  The Book of the States, Volume 32, Copyright 1998 
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History of Legislator Compensation in South Dakota 
 

 Legislator  Special    
Year Salary Mileage Session Expenses Cite  
1889 $5/day $.10/mile   Art. III §6  
1892 $5/day $.05/mile   SL 1891, ch 36 Amends 

Art. III §6 - Reduces 
mileage reimbursement 

 

1921 $5/day $.05/mile  $200   SL 1921, ch 279  
1946     SL 1945, ch 314 

Amends Art. XXI §2- 
Permits statutory changes in 
salary 

 

1947 $1,050/biennial $.05/mile   SL 1947, ch 241 §5  
1957 $1,800/biennial $.05/mile $10/day  SL 1957, ch 257 §1  
1962     SL 1961, ch 296 

Amends Art. III §7 - 
Changes from biennial 
session to annual 

 

1964 $1,800/prior to 1964 
$1,600/1964 session 

$.05/mile $10/day  SL 1964, ch 298 §1  

1965 $1,800/long session 
$1,200/short session 

$.05/mile $10/day  SL 1965, ch 230  §1  

1969 $3,000/long session 
$2,000/short session 

Effective 1/1/1971 

$.05/mile $10/day  SL 1969, ch 207  

1970 $3,000/long session 
$2,000/short session 

 

$.05/mile Compute at same 
rate as previous 

session 
Effective 1/1/1971 

 SL 1970, ch 14 §1  

1974 $3,000/long session 
$2,000/short session 

 

$.05/mile Compute at same 
rate as previous 

session 

$25/day 
Effective 1/1/1975 

SL 1974, ch 23 §1  

1976 $3,000/long session 
$2,000/short session 

$.05/mile one trip per 
year.  Others at state rate. 

Compute at same 
rate as previous 

session 

$25/day SL 1976, ch 23  

1978 $3,000/long session 
$2,000/short session 

$.05/mile one trip per 
year.  Others at state rate. 

Compute at same 
rate as previous 

session 

$50/day SL 1978, ch 24  

1981 $3,000/long session 
$2,800/short session 

$.05/mile one trip per 
year.  Others at state rate. 

Compute at same 
rate as previous 

session 

$50/day SL 1981, ch 3 §10  

1983 $3,200/long session 
$2,800/short session 

Effective 1/1/1985 

$.05/mile one trip per 
year.  Others at state rate. 

Compute at same 
rate as previous 

session 

$75/day 
Effective 1/1/1985 

SL 1983, ch 2 §11  

1988 $4,267/long session 
$3,733/short session 

$.05/mile one trip per 
year.  Others at state rate. 

Compute at same 
rate as previous 

session 

$75/day SL 1988, ch 8 §5A  

1997 $4,267/long session 
$3,733/short session 

 

$.05/mile one trip per 
year.  Others at state rate. 

Compute at same 
rate as previous 

session 

$95/day 
Effective 1/1/1999 

SL 1997, ch 18 §1  

1998 $6,000/session 
Effective 1/1/1999 

$.05/mile one trip per 
year.  Others at state rate. 

Compute at same 
rate as previous 

session 

$95/day 1998, HB 1212  
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South Dakota Constitutional Articles 
and 

South Dakota Laws 
Relating to Legislator Compensation 

 
  

Article III § 6.  Legislative terms of office - 
Compensation - Regular sessions. 
The terms of office of the members of the 
Legislature shall be two years; they shall receive 
for their services the salary fixed by law under 
the provisions of § 2 of Article XXI of this 
Constitution, and five cents for every mile of 
necessary travel in going to and returning from 
the place of meeting of the Legislature on the 
most usual route.  
 
No person may serve more than four 
consecutive terms or a total of eight 
consecutive years in the senate and more than 
four consecutive terms or a total of eight 
consecutive years in the house of 
representatives. However, this restriction does 
not apply to partial terms to which a legislator 
may be appointed or to legislative service before 
January 1, 1993.  
 
A regular session of the Legislature shall be 
held in each odd-numbered year and shall not 
exceed forty legislative days, excluding 
Sundays, holidays and legislative recess, except 
in cases of impeachment, and members of the 
Legislature shall receive no other pay or 
perquisites except salary and mileage.  
 
A regular session of the Legislature shall be 
held in each even-numbered year beginning with 
the year 1964 and shall not exceed thirty-five 
legislative days, excluding Sundays, holidays 
and legislative recess, except in cases of 
impeachment, and members of the Legislature 
shall receive no other pay or perquisites except 
salary and mileage.  
 

Article III § 7.  Convening of annual 
sessions. 
The Legislature shall meet at the seat of 
government on the second Tuesday of January 
at 12 o'clock m. and at no other time except as 
provided by this Constitution.  
 
Article XXI § 2.  Salary of constitutional 
officers. 
The Legislature by two-thirds vote of each 
branch thereof at any regular session may fix the 
salary of any or all constitutional officers 
including members of the Legislature. In fixing 
any such salary the Legislature shall determine 
the effective date thereof and may in its 
discretion decrease or increase the salary of any 
officer during his term.  
 
SDCL § 2-4-2. Salary and expense 
allowances of legislators. 
The salary of each member of the Legislature is 
six thousand dollars for every regular legislative 
session. 
 
In addition, each legislator shall receive:  
 
(1) Reimbursement to be paid after the 
legislative session for actual mileage or its 
equivalent traveled to and from home not more 
than once each weekend or between days of 
recess during the regular legislative session, at 
state rates established by the board of finance,  
 
(2) Expenses of ninety-five dollars per day for 
each day of a regular or special legislative 
session as prepaid reimbursement for living 
expenses, including meals and lodging, laundry, 
cleaning and pressing of clothing, and all other 
uncompensated expenses as defined in § 2-4-2.1 
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incident to the performance of legislative 
services, and  
 
(3) Five cents once each session for every mile 
of necessary travel in going to and returning 
from the place of meeting of the Legislature by 
the most usual route.  
 
For each day's attendance at special sessions 
each member in addition to mileage and 
expenses shall receive a per diem calculated by 
the director of the legislative research council 
equal to the normal daily compensation for the 
regular session immediately preceding the 
special session.  
 
SDCL § 2-4-2.1.  Items constituting 
uncompensated expenses of legislators. 
The term, “uncompensated expenses,” as used 
in this chapter, includes, but is not limited to, 
postage, stationery, printing, office supplies, 
telephone, incidental costs in the maintenance of 
a legislative office at home, subscriptions to 
publications, conference dues, and travel for 
attendance at meetings with constituents, and 
such other unreimbursed costs associated with 
legislative service. 
 
SDCL § 2-4-4.  Time of payment of salaries 
and allowances. The salary of the Legislature 
and the lieutenant governor shall be payable in 
the same manner as for other state employees 
under the provisions of § 3-8-6, provided, 
however, that final payment shall be made on or 
before the last day of a legislative session.  
Mileage of the members of the Legislature and 
the Lieutenant governor, for attendance upon 
regular and special sessions, shall be paid at the 
end of such session. 
 


