## HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1031

Introduced by: Representatives Peterson (Sue), Dennert, Kaiser, Rasmussen, and Ring and Senators Novstrup and Rusch

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Congratulating and commending Teagan NcNary, of Vermillion, South Dakota, and Josh Anderson, of Aberdeen, South Dakota, on their election as the incoming University of South Dakota Student Government Association president and vice president.

WHEREAS, on March 1, 2017, University of South Dakota students elected Teagan McNary as their incoming Student Government Association (SGA) president and Josh Anderson as vice president; and

WHEREAS, the SGA strives to enhance communication, cooperation, and understanding throughout the University of South Dakota; serves as a liaison between students, administration, faculty, and the South Dakota Board of Regents; allocates money to student organizations each year to provide cultural, recreational, educational, and social opportunities outside of the classroom; and works with university faculty, administration, and students to address important campus issues; and

WHEREAS, Teagan McNary, of Vermillion, South Dakota, is a junior political science major at USD and has been a member of the SGA for three years, and McNary is currently serving as an intern for the Democratic Party in the South Dakota State Legislature House of Representatives; and

WHEREAS, Josh Anderson, of Aberdeen, South Dakota, is a sophomore business administration and political science major at USD and is involved as a current SGA member and as the internal vice president of the Interfraternity Council:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Second Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature commends and congratulates Teagan McNary and Josh Anderson on their election to lead the University of South Dakota Student Government Association.

