State of South Dakota

EIGHTY-THIRD SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2008

706P0438

SENATE STATE AFFAIRS ENGROSSED NO. SJR 1 - 2/11/2008

Introduced by: Senators Napoli, Apa, and Katus and Representatives Haverly and Moore

- 1 A JOINT RESOLUTION, Proposing a constitutional amendment to eliminate term limits for
- 2 legislators and constitutional officers.

3 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA, THE HOUSE

4 OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

5 Section 1. That at the next general election held in the state, the following amendments to 6 Article III and Article IV of the Constitution of the State of South Dakota, as set forth in 7 sections 2 and 3 of this Joint Resolution, which is hereby agreed to, shall be submitted to the

8 electors of the state for approval.

9 Section 2. That Article III, section 6 of the Constitution of the State of South Dakota, be
10 amended to read as follows:

- \$ 6. The terms of office of the members of the Legislature shall be two years; they shall
 receive for their services the salary fixed by law under the provisions of § 2 of article XXI of
 this Constitution, and five cents for every mile of necessary travel in going to and returning from
 the place of meeting of the Legislature on the most usual route.
- 15 No person may serve more than four consecutive terms or a total of eight consecutive years



A regular session of the Legislature shall be held in each odd-numbered year and shall not
exceed forty legislative days, excluding Sundays, holidays and legislative recess, except in cases
of impeachment, and members of the Legislature shall receive no other pay or perquisites except
salary and mileage.

A regular session of the Legislature shall be held in each even-numbered year beginning with the year 1964 and shall not exceed thirty-five legislative days, excluding Sundays, holidays and legislative recess, except in cases of impeachment, and members of the Legislature shall receive no other pay or perquisites except salary and mileage.

Section 3. That Article IV, section 7 of the Constitution of the State of South Dakota, beamended to read as follows:

14 § 7. There shall be chosen by the qualified electors of the state at the general election of the 15 Governor and every four years thereafter the following constitutional officers: attorney general, 16 secretary of state, auditor, treasurer, and commissioner of school and public lands, who shall 17 severally hold their offices for a term of four years. Commencing with the 1992 general election, 18 no person may be elected to more than two consecutive terms as attorney general, secretary of 19 state, auditor, treasurer, or commissioner of school and public lands.