South Dakota Legislature

Senate Commemoration 818

Introduced by: **Senators** Sauder, Crabtree, Perry, and Schoenfish and **Representatives** Emery, Fitzgerald, Greenfield, Jordan, Moore, Reisch, Roe, and Uhre-Balk

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring the Hamlin Chargers for their 2024 state championship in Class 9AA football.

WHEREAS, the Hamlin Chargers defeated the Parkston Trojans 32 to 8 in the 2024 Class 9AA title game at the DakotaDome in November; and

WHEREAS, Hamlin finished the season with a perfect record of twelve wins and no losses; and

WHEREAS, the loss gave Parkston a record of eleven wins and one loss for the season and ended Parkston's winning streak of twenty-three games; and

WHEREAS, Hamlin Chargers quarterback Jackson Wadsworth finished the 2024 title game with two hundred and sixteen yards, including a touchdown pass, earning him the Joe Robbie MVP award; and

WHEREAS, Hamlin's Turner Stevenson rushed for fifty-seven yards and scored twice, while Evan Stormo added eighty receiving yards and Boden Stevenson added a receiving touchdown; and

WHEREAS, Hamlin kicker Easton Neuendorf set a new Class 9AA title game record when he kicked a forty-five-yard field goal; and

WHEREAS, Hamlin's Dawson Noem was named the outstanding lineman of the game; and

South Dakota Legislature



WHEREAS, the Parkston team had averaged more than two hundred and seventy-five yards per game in the eleven games leading up to the championship, but was held to ninety yards on thirty-three carries during the championship against Hamlin; and

WHEREAS, Hamlin head coach Jeff Sheehan praised his team for playing a nearly perfect game;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the One Hundredth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Hamlin Chargers are the Class 9AA state football champions.