A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Recognizing South Dakota's 125th birthday, quasquicentennial, during 2014.
    WHEREAS, President Benjamin Harrison signed a statehood proclamation creating the State of South Dakota at 3:40 p.m. on November 2, 1889; and
    WHEREAS, South Dakota has been, and continues to be, a land of infinite variety, diverse cultures, and hard working, caring people; and
    WHEREAS, South Dakota is home for nine Native American tribes and many other peoples with their own unique stories to tell through their art and culture; and
    WHEREAS, South Dakota is the home of America's "Shrine of Democracy," Mount Rushmore, which has attracted millions of people to South Dakota and inspired many more millions with its carvings of Presidents Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln, and Roosevelt; and
    WHEREAS, South Dakota is also the home of the Crazy Horse Memorial, the world's largest mountain carving which honors Native American heroes; and
    WHEREAS, South Dakotans take pride in the diversity of our backgrounds and land and shared core values to work together with "the best is yet to come" attitude; and
    WHEREAS, South Dakota's agricultural producers have provided crops and livestock to feed our nation and the world in years of plenty and through years of drought and flood; and
    WHEREAS, South Dakota shares its outdoor heritage of hunting, fishing, camping, and recreation with our sons and daughters and guests from around the nation; and
    WHEREAS, South Dakota's rankings in comparison to other states and its own past shows that South Dakota continues to be an excellent place to live, work, and raise a family; and
    WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that South Dakotans celebrate 125 years of statehood with special events and activities in remembrance of South Dakota's past, celebrating successes, and looking forward to a prosperous future:
    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the House of Representatives of the Eighty-Eighth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the Senate concurring therein, that the year 2014 and especially the week of November 2-8, 2014, be recognized to celebrate South Dakota's


Adopted by the House of Representatives,

February 25, 2013

Concurred in by the Senate,
February 27, 2013


Brian Gosch
Speaker of the House  

Arlene Kvislen
Chief Clerk of the House  



Matt Michels
President of the Senate  

Jeannette Schipper
Secretary of the Senate