Introduced by:    Senators Johnston, Adelstein, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Buhl, Ewing, Frerichs, Heineman (Phyllis), Holien, Hunhoff (Jean), Jones, Kirkeby, Krebs, Lederman, Lucas, Maher, Monroe, Novstrup (Al), Olson (Russell), Omdahl, Otten (Ernie), Peters, Rampelberg, Rave, Rhoden, Soholt, Sutton, Tidemann, Tieszen, Van Gerpen, Vehle, Welke, and White and Representatives Bartling, Bolin, Cammack, Campbell, Carson, Conzet, Craig, Cronin, Dryden, Duvall, Ecklund, Erickson, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Gosch, Greenfield, Haggar (Don), Haggar (Jenna), Hajek, Hansen, Hawks, Hawley, Heinemann (Leslie), Heinert, Hickey, Hoffman, Hunhoff (Bernie), Johns, Kaiser, Killer, Kirschman, Kopp, Latterell, Lust, Magstadt, May, Mickelson, Miller, Munsterman, Nelson, Novstrup (David), Olson (Betty), Otten (Herman), Parsley, Peterson, Qualm, Rasmussen, Ring, Romkema, Rounds, Rozum, Russell, Schaefer, Schoenfish, Schrempp, Sly, Soli, Solum, Stalzer, Steele, Stevens, Tulson, Tyler, Verchio, Werner, Westra, Wick, Wink, and Wismer

        A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, honoring Molly Hermann of Sturgis, South Dakota Girls State Governor and Ty Wiley of Sioux Falls, South Dakota Boys State Governor; and commending the South Dakota American Legion and Auxiliary for their sponsorship and coordination of the Girls State and Boys State programs.

    WHEREAS, Molly Hermann and Ty Wiley have been selected and are serving in these high offices and are outstanding young South Dakota leaders; and

    WHEREAS, the goals of Boys State and Girls State are to help youth understand and appreciate the American system of government and way of life, including the rights and responsibilities of citizenship; and to give better knowledge of the fundamental principles of government within the State of South Dakota through unique learn-by-doing workshops; and

    WHEREAS, the South Dakota American Legion and Auxiliary have worked diligently for more than the last seventy years in conducting these fine programs:

    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-Eighth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Molly Hermann and Ty Wiley be congratulated for their outstanding achievement; that appreciation be extended to those adults who donate time and energy to the program; and that the South Dakota American Legion and Auxiliary be recognized for their many years of sponsoring and conducting Boys and Girls State.