State of South Dakota  


Introduced by:    Senators Sutton, Adelstein, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Buhl, Ewing, Frerichs, Holien, Johnston, Jones, Kirkeby, Krebs, Lederman, Lucas, Maher, Novstrup (Al), Olson (Russell), Omdahl, Otten (Ernie), Rhoden, Tidemann, Van Gerpen, Vehle, Welke, and White and Representatives Qualm, Bartling, Bolin, Cammack, Campbell, Carson, Conzet, Craig, Cronin, Dryden, Duvall, Ecklund, Erickson, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Gosch, Haggar (Don), Haggar (Jenna), Hajek, Hansen, Hawks, Hawley, Heinemann (Leslie), Heinert, Hickey, Hoffman, Hunhoff (Bernie), Johns, Kaiser, Killer, Kirschman, Kopp, Latterell, Lust, Magstadt, May, Mickelson, Miller, Munsterman, Nelson, Novstrup (David), Olson (Betty), Otten (Herman), Parsley, Peterson, Rasmussen, Ring, Romkema, Rounds, Rozum, Schaefer, Schoenfish, Schrempp, Sly, Soli, Solum, Stalzer, Steele, Stevens, Tulson, Tyler, Verchio, Werner, Westra, Wick, Wink, and Wismer

        A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Commending the Jobs for America's Graduates (JAG) pilot program at Wagner Community School, and honoring Sage Zephier for delivering the student address for the JAG National Leadership Awards Luncheon in Washington.
    WHEREAS, Jobs for America's Graduates (JAG) is a state-based national nonprofit organization dedicated to helping students stay in school through graduation, pursue postsecondary education, and secure quality entry-level jobs leading to career advancement opportunities; and
    WHEREAS, the JAG pilot program at Wagner Community School is helping Wagner area students between seventh and twelfth grades develop leadership skills, participate in community

service, prepare for college, and identify high quality careers; and

    WHEREAS, the Wagner Community School, staff, and JAG specialists including Superintendent Susan Smit, High School Principal Neil Goter, Middle School Principal Steve Petry, and JAG specialists Renee VanDerWerff, Tana Langdeaux, Vanessa Iverson, and John Tyler have been successfully leading the program with its first graduating class in 2013; and
    WHEREAS, the 2013 graduating class includes Cheyenne Eldredge, Laurelle Gunhammer, Noah Leines, Joseph Mattis, Clarissa Medicine Horn, Clifford O'Connor, Korey Patterson, Tyler Provost, Sierra Williamson, Alexander "Zane" Zephier, Sage Zephier; and
    WHEREAS, among the graduating class, Sage Zephier was selected from more than forty-three thousand JAG students nationwide to deliver the student address for the JAG National Leadership Awards Luncheon in front of one thousand attendees in Washington:
    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the Eighty-Eighth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the House of Representatives concurring therein, that the Legislature commends Wagner Community School, staff, and students in JAG for their efforts to help South Dakota students succeed; and
    BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Legislature honors Sage Zephier for delivering the student address for the JAG National Leadership Awards Luncheon in Washington.