State of South Dakota  


Introduced by:    Senators Jones, Bradford, Buhl, Ewing, Frerichs, Heineman (Phyllis), Holien, Johnston, Kirkeby, Krebs, Lederman, Lucas, Novstrup (Al), Olson (Russell), Omdahl, Rampelberg, Sutton, Tieszen, Welke, and White and Representatives Ring, Bartling, Duvall, Ecklund, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Hawks, Hawley, Heinert, Hickey, Hunhoff (Bernie), Johns, Kaiser, Killer, Kirschman, May, Novstrup (David), Parsley, Peterson, Qualm, Rozum, Schoenfish, Schrempp, Soli, Stalzer, Steele, Tyler, Verchio, and Wismer

        A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring the Parker State Class B Boys Cross Country Champions.

    WHEREAS, the Parker team coached by Phil Bjorneberg and consisting of cross country runners Duane Jongeling, Michael Olson, Ryan Olson, Jake Vollmer, and Tristen Erickson worked together to achieve success, earning the 2012 State Class B Boys Cross Country Championship; and

    WHEREAS, Duane Jongeling received his third first-place finish in the State Class B Cross Country Meet held at Broadland Creek Golf Course, Huron, on October 20, 2012; and

    WHEREAS, the Parker High School Boys Cross Country Team became only the fifth Class B or Class A team to win three consecutive state-meet championships:

    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-Eighth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Parker State Class B Boys Cross Country Champions and coach Phil Bjorneberg are congratulated on a great 2012 season.