Introduced by:    Senators Adelstein, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Buhl, Ewing, Frerichs, Heineman (Phyllis), Holien, Hunhoff (Jean), Jensen, Johnston, Jones, Kirkeby, Krebs, Lederman, Lucas, Maher, Monroe, Novstrup (Al), Olson (Russell), Omdahl, Otten (Ernie), Peters, Rampelberg, Rave, Rhoden, Soholt, Sutton, Tidemann, Tieszen, Van Gerpen, Vehle, Welke, and White and Representatives Gosch, Bartling, Bolin, Cammack, Campbell, Conzet, Craig, Dryden, Duvall, Ecklund, Erickson, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Greenfield, Haggar (Don), Haggar (Jenna), Hajek, Hansen, Hawks, Hawley, Heinemann (Leslie), Heinert, Hickey, Hoffman, Hunhoff (Bernie), Johns, Kaiser, Killer, Kirschman, Kopp, Latterell, Lust, Magstadt, May, Mickelson, Miller, Munsterman, Nelson, Novstrup (David), Olson (Betty), Otten (Herman), Parsley, Peterson, Qualm, Rasmussen, Ring, Romkema, Rounds, Russell, Schaefer, Schoenfish, Schrempp, Sly, Soli, Solum, Stalzer, Steele, Stevens, Tulson, Tyler, Verchio, Werner, Westra, Wick, Wink, and Wismer

        A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and congratulating Colton Manville, Trevor Mahoney, and Dean Laganiere, students at the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, for qualifying for the Olympics of Computer Science which will take place in Russia.

    WHEREAS, in November 2012, these students competed in the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) regional qualifier against two hundred thirty-nine teams representing eight states and two Canadian provinces; and

    WHEREAS, the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology's World Finals qualifying team was among five, three-person teams from that institution, and all five teams placed within the top one-third of the regional contest; and

    WHEREAS, the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology has qualified for the World Finals of the ACM International Collegiate for the fifth time:

    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-Eighth Legislature of the State

of South Dakota, that these students from the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology be recognized and congratulated on this fine achievement.