State of South Dakota  


Introduced by:    Senators Tidemann, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Buhl, Cutler, Frerichs, Fryslie, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Haverly, Heineman, Holien, Hundstad, Hunhoff (Jean), Johnston, Juhnke, Krebs, Lederman, Maher, Nelson (Tom), Novstrup (Al), Nygaard, Olson (Russell), Peters, Putnam, Rampelberg, Rave, Rhoden, Schlekeway, Sutton, Tieszen, and Vehle and Representatives Munsterman, Abdallah, Blake, Bolin, Brunner, Carson, Conzet, Cronin, Deelstra, Dennert, Dryden, Elliott, Fargen, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Haggar, Hansen (Jon), Hawley, Hickey, Hoffman, Hunhoff (Bernie), Hunt, Jensen, Jones, Killer, Kirkeby, Kirschman, Kloucek, Kopp, Liss, Magstadt, Miller, Moser, Novstrup (David), Olson (Betty), Perry, Rausch, Romkema, Schaefer, Schrempp, Scott, Sigdestad, Sly, Solum, Street, Stricherz, Tulson, Turbiville, Van Gerpen, Vanneman, Venner, Verchio, White, Wick, Willadsen, and Wink

        A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Recognizing the achievements of the South Dakota State University Women's and Men's Basketball Teams.

    WHEREAS, the South Dakota State University Women's Basketball Team, coached by Aaron Johnston, won its fourth straight championship at the Summit League Women's Basketball Tournament to earn the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament; and

    WHEREAS, the Jackrabbit women posted a record of 24 wins with only 8 losses for the season and are the league regular season champions; and

    WHEREAS, the SDSU women have won every Summit League Tournament the team has played in since becoming NCAA Division I eligible and is now 12-0 in tourney play and has qualified for the Division I Championships in each of its first four years of eligibility; and

    WHEREAS, Jennie Sunnarborg was named tournament Most Valuable Player and was joined on the five-player All-tournament Team by Jill Young; and

    WHEREAS, just hours after the South Dakota State women punched their ticket to the Big Dance, the Jackrabbit men, coached by Scott Nagy, followed suit with a thrilling come-from-behind overtime win over Western Illinois; and

    WHEREAS, the Summit League Tournament win sends the South Dakota State men to the NCAA Tournament for the first time at the Division I level with a season record of 27 wins and 7 losses; and

    WHEREAS, tournament MVP Nate Wolters led the Jackrabbits and was joined by Jordan Dykstra, with All-tournament Team honors:

    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-seventh Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the South Dakota State University Jackrabbits Women's and Men's Basketball Teams be honored for their outstanding achievements in 2012.