Introduced by:    Representatives Sigdestad, Blake, Bolin, Brunner, Cronin, Deelstra, Dennert, Elliott, Fargen, Feickert, Gibson, Hawley, Hunhoff (Bernie), Kloucek, Lucas, Munsterman, Perry, Schaefer, Schrempp, White, and Wismer and Senators Frerichs, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Buhl, Cutler, Holien, Krebs, Novstrup (Al), Olson (Russell), Rampelberg, and Sutton

        A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring the town of Pierpont, South Dakota, on its one hundred twenty-fifth anniversary.

    WHEREAS, Pierpont is nestled at the foot of the Coteau Hills and was named after a railroad officer in New York; and

    WHEREAS, Pierpont has always been an agricultural centered community with the first building ever built there being a grain elevator. Pierpont had its largest population growth in the 1920s; and

    WHEREAS, Charles H. Sheldon, the second Governor of South Dakota from 1893-1897, homesteaded in Farmington township next to the town of Pierpont; and

    WHEREAS, Pierpont is a warm and friendly community that provides a great place for people to live and bring up their families:

    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-seventh Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the town of Pierpont, the surrounding community members, and descendants near and far be congratulated for the celebration of the one hundred twenty-fifth anniversary of the town of Pierpont; and

    BE IT FURTHER COMMEMORATED that the Legislature salutes Pierpont.

750 copies of this document were printed by the South Dakota
Legislative Research Council at a cost of $.015 per page.
.   Insertions into existing statutes are indicated by underscores.
Deletions from existing statutes are indicated by overstrikes.