State of South Dakota  


Introduced by:    Senators Lederman, Adelstein, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Buhl, Cutler, Frerichs, Fryslie, Gray, Hansen (Tom), Haverly, Heineman, Holien, Hunhoff (Jean), Johnston, Juhnke, Kraus, Krebs, Maher, Nelson (Tom), Novstrup (Al), Nygaard, Olson (Russell), Peters, Putnam, Rampelberg, Rave, Rhoden, Schlekeway, Sutton, Tidemann, Tieszen, and Vehle and Representatives Miller, Abdallah, Blake, Bolin, Boomgarden, Carson, Conzet, Deelstra, Dennert, Dryden, Elliott, Fargen, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Gosch, Greenfield, Haggar, Hansen (Jon), Hawley, Hickey, Hoffman, Hubbel, Hunhoff (Bernie), Hunt, Iron Cloud III, Jensen, Jones, Killer, Kirkeby, Kirschman, Kloucek, Kopp, Liss, Lucas, Lust, Magstadt, Moser, Munsterman, Nelson (Stace), Novstrup (David), Olson (Betty), Rausch, Romkema, Rozum, Schaefer, Schrempp, Scott, Sigdestad, Sly, Steele, Street, Tornow, Tulson, Turbiville, Van Gerpen, Vanneman, Venner, Verchio, White, Wick, Willadsen, Wink, and Wismer

        A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring and commending the citizens of South Dakota for their exemplary response to the Missouri River Flood of 2011.

    WHEREAS, the Missouri River flooding was triggered by record snowfall and spring rainfall, causing all six major dams along the Missouri River basin to release unprecedented amounts of water; and

    WHEREAS, thousands of homes and businesses in communities along the Missouri River were evacuated for a prolonged period of time due to the disaster; and

    WHEREAS, countless volunteers from every corner of the state poured into the affected communities to aid victims of the flooding; and

    WHEREAS, South Dakotans sprang into action and worked relentlessly to fill sandbags, build emergency levees, patrol the affected areas, man emergency operations centers, and aid homeowners during the tumultuous relocation process:

    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-seventh Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature honors the citizens of South Dakota for their persistence, hard work, and fellowship in addressing the Missouri River Flood of 2011.