State of South Dakota  


Introduced by:    Senators Frerichs, Begalka, Bradford, Brown, Fryslie, Hansen (Tom), Hunhoff (Jean), Juhnke, Krebs, Maher, Nygaard, Olson (Russell), Putnam, Rampelberg, Rhoden, Sutton, Tidemann, and Vehle and Representatives Vanneman, Bolin, Brunner, Cronin, Dennert, Elliott, Feickert, Greenfield, Hoffman, Hunhoff (Bernie), Jones, Kloucek, Kopp, Lucas, Nelson (Stace), Olson (Betty), Rausch, Schaefer, Scott, Sigdestad, Street, Tulson, Van Gerpen, Verchio, and Wismer

        A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Congratulating and commending Wyatt DeJong of Winner, South Dakota, and the Winner FFA Chapter for his outstanding year as the 2010-2011 National FFA Central Region Vice President.

    WHEREAS, Wyatt DeJong was elected as the 2010-2011 National FFA Central Region Vice President at the 2010 National FFA Convention. He served the National FFA Organization with five other national FFA officers from around the nation; and

    WHEREAS, Wyatt helped make a difference and was an inspiration in the lives of agriculture, food, and natural resources education students and FFA members across the nation through speeches and workshops at schools and state conventions; and

    WHEREAS, Wyatt played the role of relationship builder with national partners in industry, education, and government; as well as local and state stakeholders like parents, administrators, and teachers; and

    WHEREAS, Wyatt served a year with passion and helped ensure the future of agricultural education and FFA in classrooms across the nation:

    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-seventh Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Wyatt DeJong be congratulated and commended for his outstanding service to the National FFA Organization; agriculture, food, and natural resources education; and the agricultural industry as a whole.