A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Requesting that a United States Navy submarine be named the USS South Dakota.
    WHEREAS, Congress and the Department of the Navy have long maintained an interest in how Navy ships are named; and
    WHEREAS, names for Navy ships traditionally have been chosen and announced by the Secretary of the Navy, under the direction of the President and in accordance with rules prescribed by Congress. Rules for giving certain types of names to certain types of Navy ships have evolved over time; and
    WHEREAS, currently, Virginia (SSN-774) class attack submarines are being named for states. These include the Virginia, Texas, Hawaii, North Carolina, New Mexico, and Missouri, which are all in active service. In 2011, the California was added, along with the Mississippi, Minnesota, North Dakota, and John Warner, all currently under construction; and
    WHEREAS, current Midwestern states and cities that have submarines named after them include the USS North Dakota SSN-784, USS Minnesota SSN-783, USS Missouri SSN-779, USS Cheyenne SSN-773, USS Boise SSN-764, USS Wyoming SSBN-742, USS Nebraska SSBN-739, USS Helena SSN-725, USS Minneapolis/St. Paul SSN-708, and USS Omaha SSN-692:
    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the House of Representatives of the Eighty-seventh Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the Senate concurring therein, that the South Dakota Legislature, together with members of the public and the United States Submarine Veterans Inc. (USSVI) Scorpion Base in Sioux Falls and Polaris Base in Rapid City, request the United States Congress and the Secretary of the Navy to support the naming of a United States Navy submarine for the State of South Dakota. Tradition, history, and honor will be maintained in naming a new United States Navy submarine after the historic battleship USS South Dakota.

Adopted by the House of Representatives,

February 21, 2012

Concurred in by the Senate,
February 23, 2012


Val Rausch
Speaker of the House  

Karen Gerdes
Chief Clerk of the House  



Matt Michels
President of the Senate  

Fee Jacobsen
Secretary of the Senate