21.789.11 96th Legislative Session 0

2021 South Dakota Legislature

House Commemoration 8007

Introduced by: Representatives Finck and Blare and Senator Tobin

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Celebrating the Winner High School Football Team's Class B championship win.

WHEREAS, the Winner High School Football Team won their third state title in the past six years against Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan. The Winner Warriors defeated the Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan Seahawks by a score of 18-14, thereby securing the championship; and

WHEREAS, during the first and second quarters, the Warriors and Seahawks took turns taking the lead. The Warriors snagged a touchdown in the first few minutes of the game. Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan scored a touchdown towards the end of the first half to then take the lead from the Warriors, but Winner recaptured the lead in the last minute of the half; and

WHEREAS, the Warriors extended their lead in the third quarter, but the Seahawks responded quickly. Bodie Burnham set up their play with a 70-yard kickoff return and carried the ball into the end zone on a one-yard run two plays later. Winner's defense came up strong against Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan the rest of the game when Kaden Klumb took a shot at the end zone, but it was broken up by Riley Orel, who sealed Winner's victory:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Winner High School Football Team be commended for their teamwork, leadership, and hard work as well as their commitment to their school and team and for their 2020 state championship.

Catchlines are not law. (§ 2-16-13.1) Underscores indicate new language.

Overstrikes indicate deleted language.