21.453.12 96th Legislative Session 528

2021 South Dakota Legislature

Senate Concurrent Resolution 603


An Act

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Supporting the establishment of the Economic Development Professionals Association of South Dakota.

WHEREAS, South Dakota economic development professionals, economic development offices, and businesses and organizations involved with economic development have recognized the need for a statewide association to support and unite the profession, provide for concerted action among economic development professionals, and promote and encourage growth in communities across this state, by establishing the Economic Development Professionals Association of South Dakota; and

WHEREAS, the mission of the association is to champion the growth and diversification of this state's economy through professional development opportunities, networking, advocacy, and action in concert with public and private sector entities; and

WHEREAS, the vision of the association is to have a state that is filled with vibrant communities, in which unlimited economic opportunities are available for all:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the Ninety-Sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the House of Representatives concurring therein, that the South Dakota Legislature commends the foresight and wisdom of those who promoted and encouraged the creation of the association, offers its congratulations on the formation of the association, and anticipates many years of productive interactions to ensure that the vision of the association becomes and remains a reality for all South Dakotans; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the secretary of the Senate transmit copies of this resolution to the president and the executive director of the Economic Development Professionals Association of South Dakota.

Adopted by the Senate, February 3, 2021

Concurred in by the House of Representatives, March 3, 2021

_____________________ _____________________ Larry Rhoden Kay Johnson President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate

_____________________ _____________________ Spencer Gosch Patricia Miller Speaker of the House Chief Clerk