21.691.14 96th Legislative Session 927

2021 South Dakota Legislature

Senate Bill 172


Introduced by: Senator David Johnson

An Act to add nonvoting legislative members to the South Dakota Ellsworth Development Authority.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of South Dakota:

Section 1. That § 1-16J-2 be AMENDED.

1-16J-2. Membership--Initial terms--Officers--Removal.

The authority shall consist of seven voting members, appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The terms for the initial appointments shall be as follows: three members shall serve three years, two members shall serve two years, and two members shall serve one year. Not all of the members may be of the same political party. One of the members shall be designated by the Governor as chair. The members shall elect from among their number such other officers as they may determine. The Governor may remove any voting member of the board for cause.

There shall also be two nonvoting legislative members, one from the House of Representatives, appointed by speaker of the House of Representatives, and one from the Senate, appointed by the president pro tempore of the Senate. An appointment of a legislative member shall be biennially for a term expiring on January first of each succeeding odd-numbered year and each member appointed shall serve until the member's successor is appointed and qualified. If there is a vacancy for a legislative member, the original appointing authority shall be responsible for naming a replacement.

Section 2. That § 1-16J-4 be AMENDED.

1-16J-4. Terms--Vacancies--Quorum.

All appointments of voting members to the authority after the initial appointments shall be made for a four-year term. Each voting member's term of office shall expire on the applicable third Monday in January, but the member shall continue to hold office until a successor is appointed and qualified. Any vacancy in the authority shall be filled by appointment for only the balance of the unexpired term. A majority of the voting members of the authority constitutes a quorum.

Section 3. That § 1-16J-5 be AMENDED.

1-16J-5. No compensation--Reimbursement of expenses.

No member of such the authority may receive any compensation for services rendered under this chapter. However, voting members shall be reimbursed for necessary expenses incurred in connection with duties and powers prescribed by this chapter.

Section 4. The provisions of this Act are repealed on December 31, 2024, and code sections amended by this Act will revert to that which existed immediately prior to the effective date of this Act.

Catchlines are not law. (§ 2-16-13.1) Underscores indicate new language.

Overstrikes indicate deleted language.