South Dakota Legislature

Senate Commemoration 809

Introduced by: Senators Cammack, Crabtree, Duvall, Foster, Hunhoff, Schoenbeck, V. J. Smith, Stalzer, Symens, Wiik, and Zikmund and Representatives Bartels, Barthel, Chaffee, Duba, Finck, Perry, and Kent Peterson

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring and commending Blair Brothers as the 2020 Leopold Conservation Award recipient.

WHEREAS, the Leopold Conservation Award, named for renowned conservationist Aldo Leopold, recognizes farm and ranch families who demonstrate outstanding conservation leadership on their land and in their communities, and a commitment to the health of South Dakota's natural resources—qualities exemplified by Blair Brothers as the recipient of the 2020 Leopold Conservation Award; and

WHEREAS, the cow-calf, stocker, and feed lot business spans forty thousand acres of deeded and leased rangeland near the Black Hills of western South Dakota; and

WHEREAS, embracing conservation practices that enhance soil, water, livestock, and wildlife has allowed the ranch to evolve and grow with each generation since Enos Blair established it more than a century ago; and

WHEREAS, in addition to providing leadership to livestock and general agriculture organizations, the ranch has formed working partnerships with local, state, and national agencies and organizations to learn new conservation practices; and

WHEREAS, the human side to the ranch's overall sustainability includes creating a succession plan, diversifying ranch assets, and sharing knowledge with the next generation and other ranchers; and

WHEREAS, as a result of their dedication to conservation over the past four decades, the Blairs were awarded the 2020 Public Land Council’s Sagebrush Steppe Stewardship Award and continue to see their ranch change, grow, and thrive, knowing that they are leaving things better for the next generation:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Blair Brothers be honored and commended for earning the 2020 Leopold Conservation Award.