South Dakota Legislature

Senate Commemoration 804

Introduced by: Senators Heinert, Cammack, Foster, Nesiba, Herman Otten, Rusch, Schoenbeck, V. J. Smith, Wiik, and Zikmund and Representatives Gosch, Bartels, Blare, Duba, Finck, Hoffman, Phil Jensen, Keintz, Koth, Lesmeister, May, Perry, Jamie Smith, Stevens, and Weisgram

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring and commending Sutton Rodeo and Rodeo Rapid City for their dedication to showcasing South Dakota's culture on a national stage and for being named the 2020 PRCA Large Indoor Rodeo of the Year.

WHEREAS, The first Sutton Rodeo event was held in 1926 when the Edwin Sutton family began using its family ranch as rodeo grounds. For almost one hundred years, the Sutton family has continued the tradition and has shown a strong sense of perseverance and community, rebuilding the rodeo from its break during the Great Depression; and

WHEREAS, Rodeo Rapid City is known throughout the country as one of the top large indoor rodeos, showcasing award-winning bucking stock and boasting a staff of several Hall of Fame stock contractors. Rodeo Rapid City has always sought innovation by establishing the first wrangler bullfights in 1979 that brought legendary bullfighters to perform in front of fans. Rodeo Rapid City won the PRCA Large Indoor Rodeo Award in 2002 and 2013, and has been nominated for the award an astonishing nineteen times; and

WHEREAS, Rodeo Rapid City continues to thrill fans and contestants alike with its well-produced, colorful openings and exciting rodeo action. In the midst of a global pandemic, Rodeo Rapid City and its group of dedicated staff held the rodeo in a safe manner while still hosting five hundred fourteen contestants. Rodeo Rapid City put on a fantastic event in 2020 and was rewarded by being named the PRCA Large Indoor Rodeo of the Year:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Sixth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Sutton Rodeo and Rodeo Rapid City be honored and commended for their excellent performance in 2020 and for being awarded the PRCA Large Indoor Rodeo of the Year for the third time.