State of South Dakota  

186T0757   HOUSE COMMEMORATION   NO.  1016  

Introduced by:    Representatives Kloucek, Blake, Bolin, Brunner, Deelstra, Dennert, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Hickey, Iron Cloud III, Jones, Kirschman, Lucas, Nelson (Stace), Romkema, Rozum, Schrempp, Scott, Sigdestad, and Wismer and Senators Putnam, Begalka, Bradford, Buhl, Frerichs, Fryslie, Gray, Lederman, and Sutton

        A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring Avon Elementary School as a National Blue Ribbon school for outstanding academic achievement.

    WHEREAS, Avon Elementary School ranked among the highest performing schools in the state of South Dakota with their student performances on state assessments tests; and

    WHEREAS, a National Blue Ribbon School Ceremony took place on November 21, 2011, at Avon Elementary School; and

    WHEREAS, congratulations are due to the Avon Elementary School staff for their hard work and team effort toward academic excellence, especially to kindergarten teacher Dawn Kocmich, first grade teacher Benita Kuhlman, second grade teacher Tina Cameron, third grade teacher Loretta Knodel, fourth grade teacher Amy Cooper, fifth grade teacher Beth Dykstra, and sixth grade teacher Shelly Poppe for their hard work; and

    WHEREAS, Dr. Melody Schopp, the South Dakota Secretary of Education, was the keynote speaker at a public ceremony honoring Avon Elementary School staff for their academic excellence in obtaining the award. Representative Frank Kloucek also spoke at the ceremony honoring the school for its milestone achievement; and

    WHEREAS, Tina Cameron and Loretta Knodel traveled to Washington, D.C., to accept the award on behalf of Avon Elementary School:

    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-seventh Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Avon Elementary School be commended and honored for this outstanding lifetime commitment to quality public education in South Dakota.