State of South Dakota  

925T0541   HOUSE COMMEMORATION   NO.  1003  

Introduced by:    Representatives Kloucek, Bolin, Cronin, Elliott, Fargen, Feickert, Feinstein, Gibson, Hansen (Jon), Hawley, Hickey, Hunt, Jones, Kirschman, Lucas, Magstadt, Moser, Olson (Betty), Rozum, Sigdestad, Sly, Street, Stricherz, Turbiville, Van Gerpen, and Wismer and Senators Putnam, Begalka, Cutler, Frerichs, Hunhoff (Jean), Lederman, Maher, Novstrup (Al), Nygaard, Rampelberg, Rhoden, and Tieszen

        A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Commending and honoring the community of Delmont on its one hundred twenty-fifth birthday.

    WHEREAS, on February 27, 2011, the community of Delmont began its year of celebrating its one hundred twenty-fifth birthday with the Delmont Fireman's Sausage Supper February 27, 2011; and on September 10 and 11, 2011, the community of Delmont celebrated its German Heritage with a Kuchen Festival and Old-Time Harvest Festival; and on December 31, 2011, the community of Delmont ended its year of celebration with a New Year's Eve parade and a Simply South Dakota Tasting Event; and

    WHEREAS, the community organizations responsible for the various events were the 125th Anniversary committee, headed by Dick and Earla Strid, Glennis Stern, Alan Villmow, Jane Baier, Scott Andersh, Lexine Goehring, Nola Redd, Londa Fink, Andra Semmler, Mike Williams, Shirley Weisser, Russ and Barb Dozark, Arlo Bueber, Dale Bitterman, Vernon Kraft; the Delmont Volunteer Fire Department, Elmer Goehring, chief, Kevin Beehler, 1st assistant, Darren Fechner, 2nd assistant, Ray Anderson, secretary, Dwight Brenner, treasurer, Adam Brock, equipment manager, Mike Redd, Todd Gross, Devin Loneman, Corey Whitney, Tom Goehring, Russ Dozark, J.J. Kokes, Joel Baier, Kevin Hanten, Duane Wagner, Scott Clites, Rob Hotchkiss, Niel Anderson, Gary Roth; The Historical Society of Delmont, headed by Earla Strid, president, Dick Strid, Sam Grosz, Ray and Phyllis Dewald; the Twin Rivers Old Iron Association, headed by Glennis Stern, president, Rolyn Erck, George Sandhoff, Dale Bitterman, Joel Baier, Mike Fechner, Brian Weisser, Harold Bietz, Tammy Weisser, Donna Erck, Norma Bietz, Lila Fechner and Deb Stern; Delmont Community Club, Shirley Weisser, president; Delmont Non-Profit Development Corporation, Elizabeth "Sam" Grosz, Earla Strid, Dick Strid, Scott Clites, Glendine Heinert, and Shirley Weisser; Tyndall Bakery, Ed and Carol Radack owners and Kuchen bakers.

    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Eighty-seventh Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the community of Delmont, the surrounding community members, and descendants near and far be congratulated for its successful year of celebrating the one hundred twenty-fifth birthday of the community of Delmont; and

    BE IT FURTHER COMMEMORATED that we salute Delmont for all of its annual events and the great effort it makes as an example of small town tourism at its finest.