

2020 South Dakota Legislature

House Concurrent Resolution 6024 ENROLLED

An Act

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Commending automotive enthusiasts in South Dakota and the Specialty Equipment Market Association for their contributions in preserving classic automobiles and urging the Governor to declare a South Dakota Collector Car Appreciation Day this year.

WHEREAS, many South Dakotans are automotive enthusiasts who have a passion for restoring and preserving classic automobiles as a means of expression and a form of art; and

WHEREAS, the restoration and preservation of classic automobiles is a unifying activity shared among all generations and segments of society; and

WHEREAS, classic automobiles are an integral part of the history of South Dakota and the United States, and automotive enthusiasts in South Dakota play an essential role in preserving this history by restoring, preserving and displaying classic automobiles; and

WHEREAS, the SEMA Show that is organized by the Specialty Equipment Market Association and takes place annually in Las Vegas, Nevada helps South Dakotans who restore and preserve classic automobiles thrive and succeed and makes an invaluable contribution to the preservation of classic automobiles in the United States:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the House of Representatives of the Ninety-Fifth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the Senate concurring therein, that automotive enthusiasts in South Dakota is commended for their role in preserving the history of classic automobiles; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Specialty Equipment Market Association is commended for annually organizing the SEMA Show and its contribution to the preservation of classic automobiles; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Governor is urged to declare the twenty-seventh day of August of this year as South Dakota Collector Car Appreciation Day to celebrate the cultural value of automobiles to South Dakota and the United States.

Adopted by the House of Representatives, Concurred in by the Senate,

March 2, 2020 March 9, 2020

Steven G. Haugaard Speaker of the House Mary Lou Goehring Chief Clerk

Larry Rhoden President of the Senate Kay Johnson Secretary of the Senate