

2020 South Dakota Legislature House Concurrent Resolution 6017 ENROLLED

AN ACT

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, To encourage the creation of an interim legislative study to address infrastructure and funding support related to the expansion of Ellsworth Air Force Base.

WHEREAS, Ellsworth Air Force Base provides vital services to the defense of our nation; and

WHEREAS, the servicemen and servicewomen of the United States Air Force and their families rely on the surrounding South Dakota communities for support and the necessary infrastructure to achieve their mission; and

WHEREAS, the Ellsworth Air Force Base is rapidly expanding to engage in new endeavors including preparation for the new B-21 mission; and

WHEREAS, an interim legislative study may be created, of no more than nine members, to study, review, and propose policy and legislative recommendations to address infrastructure and funding support needs related to the expansion of Ellsworth Air Force Base, including housing, education, and roads; and

WHEREAS, it is requested that five of these members be from the House of Representatives and four members from the Senate, with no more than three members from either body being of the same party; and

WHEREAS, the study is encouraged to report to the Legislature and the Governor before the beginning of the Ninety-sixth Legislative Session, including any draft legislation and policy recommendations; and

WHEREAS, the study, if created, shall be under the supervision of the Executive Board of the Legislative Research Council and staffed and funded as an interim legislative committee:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the House of Representatives of the Ninety-Fifth Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the Senate concurring therein, that the Executive Board of the Legislative Research Council is encouraged to establish a study to further the objectives described in this resolution.

Adopted by the House of Representatives, Concurred in by the Senate,

February 26, 2020 March 5, 2020

Steven G. Haugaard Speaker of the House Mary Lou Goehring Chief Clerk

Larry Rhoden President of the Senate Kay Johnson Secretary of the Senate