Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, March 05, 2020 10:00 AM

<u>Roll Call</u>

Present: Sen. Ewing, Sen. Foster, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Klumb, Sen. Ernie Otten, Sen. Soholt, Sen. Youngberg, and Sen. Cammack Excused: Sen. Blare

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Cammack

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, MARCH 03RD

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Youngberg Action: Prevailed by voice vote

RUSSELL OLSON OF LAKE COUNTY, WENTWORTH, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE GAME, FISH AND PARKS COMMISSION

Presented by: Jason Simmons, Office of the Governor

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT OF RUSSELL OLSON OF LAKE COUNTY, WENTWORTH, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE GAME, FISH AND PARKS COMMISSION

Moved by:	Youngberg
Second by:	Heinert
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Ewing, Foster, Heinert, Klumb, Soholt, Youngberg, and Cammack

Excused: Blare and Ernie Otten

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED THE REAPPOINTMENT OF RUSSELL OLSON OF LAKE COUNTY, WENTWORTH, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE GAME, FISH AND PARKS COMMISSION AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HCR 6021 : Supporting the continued operation of the D.C. Booth Historic National Fish Hatchery.

Presented by: Senator Bob Ewing Proponents: Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America

MOTION: DO PASS HCR 6021

Moved by: He	einert
--------------	--------

- Second by: Youngberg
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Ewing, Foster, Heinert, Klumb, Ernie Otten, Soholt, Youngberg, and Cammack

Excused: Blare

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HCR 6021 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HCR 6022 : Urging the State Trade Office in the Governor's Office of Economic Development to promote international business and trade on behalf of South Dakota exporters.

Presented by: Representative Michael Saba

MOTION: DO PASS HCR 6022

Moved by:	Heinert
Second by:	Klumb
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)

- Voting Yes: Ewing, Foster, Heinert, Klumb, Ernie Otten, Soholt, and Cammack
- Excused: Blare and Youngberg

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HCR 6022 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Conservation Districts, played the video of the 2019 Leopold Conservation Award winner, Johnson Farms, Frankfurt and then introduced Brian and Jamie Johnson to the committee. They then spoke briefly and answered some questions of the committee. (Handout#1)

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Klumb
Second by:	Youngberg
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Lois Henry, Committee Secretary

/s/ GARY L. CAMMACK Gary L. Cammack, Chair