Committee: House Transportation

Roll Call

Present:	Rep. Chase, Rep. Duvall, Rep. Finck, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. David Johnson,
	Rep. Livermont, Rep. Steele, Rep. Weis, Rep. Zikmund, Rep. Lesmeister,
	Rep. Anderson, and Rep. Mills
Excused:	Rep. Bordeaux

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Mills

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, MARCH 03RD

Moved by:FinckSecond by:AndersonAction:Prevailed by voice vote

SB 149 : revise provisions regarding emblem specialty plates.

Presented by: Senator Ernie Otten Proponents: Representative Caleb Finck

MOTION: DO PASS SB 149

Moved by:	Chase
Second by:	Finck
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Chase, Duvall, Finck, Goodwin, David Johnson, Livermont, Steele, Weis, Zikmund, Lesmeister, Anderson, and Mills

Excused: Bordeaux

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 149 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 70 : authorize other languages to be used in the process of issuing certain driver licenses and permits.

Presented by: Senator V. J. Smith Proponents: Alex Ramirez, Pulso Hispano, Sioux Falls Michael Held, South Dakota Farm Bureau David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce and Industry Selene Zamorano, Voices for Peace, Sioux Falls Lorin Pankratz, South Dakota Visitor Industry Alliance Lorin Pankratz, South Dakota Soybean Association Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota Maria Moar, self, Sioux Falls Myron Rau, South Dakota Trucking Association Myron Rau, South Dakota Auto Dealers Association Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League Deb Fischer-Clemens, Avera Sister Lynn Marie Welbig, Presentation Sisters of Aberdeen Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Home Builders Association Senator Reynold Nesiba

MOTION: AMEND SB 70

70B

On page 2, line 3, of the Senate Transportation bill, delete "3 " and insert 2Moved by:AndersonSecond by:DuvallAction:Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 70 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Finck
Second by:	Lesmeister
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-3-2-0)

- Voting Yes: Chase, Duvall, Finck, David Johnson, Steele, Zikmund, Lesmeister, and Anderson
- Voting No: Livermont, Weis, and Mills

Excused: Goodwin and Bordeaux

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Steele Second by: Finck Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Sharon Johnson, Committee Secretary

/s/ JOHN MILLS John Mills, Chair