Committee: House Military and Veterans Affairs Wednesday, March 04, 2020 3:30 PM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Borglum, Rep. Finck, Rep. Howard, Rep. Chris Johnson, Rep. David

Johnson, Rep. Marty, Rep. Randolph, Rep. McCleerey, Rep. Sue Peterson, and

Rep. Zikmund

Excused: Rep. Deutsch, Rep. Diedrich, and Rep. Pourier

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Zikmund

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, FEBRUARY 10<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: McCleerey Second by: Borglum

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 124: to revise provisions regarding group pheasant hunts for disabled

veterans.

Presented by: Senator John Lake

Proponents: Aaron Pollard, Department of Veterans Affairs

Ken Teunissen, Military Order of the Purple Heart

Gene Murphy, Disabled American Veterans

Others: Jon Kotilnek, South Dakota Department of Game, Fish, and Parks answered

questions from the Committee.

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 124

Moved by: Finck Second by: Howard

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-0-3-0)

Voting Yes: Borglum, Finck, Howard, Chris Johnson, David Johnson, Marty, Randolph,

McCleerey, Sue Peterson, and Zikmund

Excused: Deutsch, Diedrich, and Pourier

## HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 124 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

## SB 156: repeal provisions regarding the South Dakota Veterans Commission.

Presented by: Senator Jim Stalzer

Proponents: Ken Teunissen, Military Order of the Purple Heart

Gene Murphy, Disabled American Veterans

Terry Mayer, self, Sioux Falls

Travis Flisrand, The American Legion Dept. of South Dakota

Representative Larry Zikmund

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 156

Moved by: McCleerey Second by: Borglum

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-0-3-0)

Voting Yes: Borglum, Finck, Howard, Chris Johnson, David Johnson, Marty, Randolph,

McCleerey, Sue Peterson, and Zikmund

Excused: Deutsch, Diedrich, and Pourier

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Finck Second by: Howard

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Sharon Johnson, Committee Secretary

/s/ LARRY P. ZIKMUND Larry P. Zikmund, Chair