Committee: House State Affairs

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Anderson, Rep. Dennert, Rep. Diedrich, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Gosch, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Haugaard, Rep. Kevin Jensen, Rep. McCleerey, Rep. Kent Peterson, Rep. Jamie Smith, Rep. Beal, and Rep. Qualm

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, MARCH 02ND

Moved by:	Hansen
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

SB 157 : revise certain provisions regarding the county zoning and appeals process.

Presented by: Kristi Noem, Governor (Handout(s) 1) Proponents: Jason Simmons, Office of the Governor Lorin Pankratz, SD County Commissioners Association (Handout(s) 2) Scott VanderWal, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation (Handout(s) 3) Eric Jennings, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association Steve Schmeichels. self, Hurley Drew Peterson, self, Salem Travis Mockler, self, Centerville Brian Donahoe, South Dakota Pork Producers Curt Everson, South Dakota Bankers Association David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce and Industry Bill Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association Bill Van Camp, Nextera Energy Sources Deb Mortenson, South Dakota Wind Energy Association Dean Krogman, Independent Community Bankers Association Dean Krogman, Rapid City, Pierre and Eastern Railroad Inc. Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives Matt McCaulley, South Dakota Corn Grower's Association Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stock Growers Association Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Ethanol Producers Debra Owen, Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce Anna Hays, Rapid City Area Chamber of Commerce Matt Krogman, Brookings Economic Development Corporation Matt Krogman, Brookings Chamber of Commerce John Gunderson, self, Irene Louie Johnson, self, Volin Opponents: Shawn Tornow, self, Sioux Falls Rebecca Terk, Dakota Rural Action (Handout(s) 5) Reuben Parks, self, Webster Dan Klimisch, self, Yankton Mark Winegar, Sierra Club Kathy Tyler, self, Big Stone City

Others: Jack Hieb, self, Aberdeen (Handout(s) Written proponent testimony 4)

MOTION: DO PASS SB 157

Moved by:	Kent Peterson
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by roll call vote (10-3-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Anderson, Dennert, Diedrich, Goodwin, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Kent Peterson, Jamie Smith, Beal, and Qualm
- Voting No: Gosch, Haugaard, and McCleerey

SB 169 : authorize the possession of a concealed pistol by employees in county courthouses.

Presented by: Senator Lance Russell

Proponents: Paul Nabholz, Fall River County, Hot Springs, SD Representative Dale Hammock, self

MOTION: DO PASS SB 169

- Moved by: Beal
- Second by: Dennert
- Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (10-3-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Dennert, Diedrich, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Haugaard, Kevin Jensen, Kent Peterson, Beal, and Qualm
- Voting No: Anderson, McCleerey, and Jamie Smith

SB 98 : extend the notification period for possession of a concealed pistol in the state capitol.

Presented by: Senator Jim Stalzer

Proponents: Rich Sattgast, State Auditor Brian Gosch, NRA, Rapid City Representative Dale Hammock, self

MOTION: DO PASS SB 98

- Moved by: Dennert
- Second by: Beal
- Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (13-0-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Anderson, Dennert, Diedrich, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Haugaard, Kevin Jensen, McCleerey, Kent Peterson, Jamie Smith, Beal, and Qualm

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 98 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 120 : establish exceptions regarding the possession of a pistol by a minor.

Presented by: Senator Jim Stalzer

Proponents: Brian Gosch, NRA, Rapid City Representative Dale Hammock, self

MOTION: DO PASS SB 120

Moved by:GoschSecond by:Kevin JensenAction:Prevailed by roll call vote (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Dennert, Diedrich, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Haugaard, Kevin Jensen, McCleerey, Kent Peterson, Jamie Smith, Beal, and Qualm

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 120 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

The committee went into recess. They will reconvene in Room 414 immediately

following session adjournment.

SB 45 : transfer the functions of the South Dakota Value Added Finance Authority to the South Dakota Economic Development Finance Authority and the South Dakota Board of Economic Development and to abolish the South Dakota Value Added Finance Authority.

Presented by: Travis Dovre, Governor's Office of Economic Development

MOTION: DO PASS SB 45

Moved by:	Beal
Second by:	Kent Peterson
Action:	Prevailed by roll call vote (8-0-5-0)

- Voting Yes: Anderson, Dennert, Goodwin, Gosch, Kevin Jensen, Kent Peterson, Beal, and Qualm
- Excused: Diedrich, Hansen, Haugaard, McCleerey, and Jamie Smith

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 45 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 164 : revise the penalties and provisions regarding approaching stopped vehicles.

Presented by: Representative Doug Post

Proponents: Ryker Tieszen, SD Sheriff's Association, Pierre, SD Maynard Konechne, South Dakota Emergency Medical Services Association Jason Husby, Department of Public Safety

MOTION: DO PASS SB 164

Moved by:BealSecond by:Kent PetersonAction:Prevailed by roll call vote (10-0-3-0)

- Voting Yes: Anderson, Dennert, Goodwin, Gosch, Haugaard, Kevin Jensen, Kent Peterson, Jamie Smith, Beal, and Qualm
- Excused: Diedrich, Hansen, and McCleerey

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:AndersonSecond by:DennertAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ LEE QUALM Lee Qualm, Chair