Committee: Senate Commerce and Energy Thursday, February 27, 2020 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Curd, Sen. Monroe, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Steinhauer, Sen. Kennedy,

Sen. Schoenbeck, and Sen. Stalzer

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Kennedy

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 25TH

Moved by: Steinhauer Second by: Novstrup

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1073: authorize special event alcohol licenses for full-service restaurant

licensees.

Presented by: Senator Bob Ewing

Proponents: Representative Jean Hunhoff

David Wiest, South Dakota Department of Revenue Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association

Matt Krogman, SD License Beverage Dealers and Gaming Association

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1073

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Steinhauer

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Curd, Monroe, Novstrup, Steinhauer, Kennedy, Schoenbeck, and Stalzer

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1073 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1125: revise conditions for selling non-temperature-controlled baked goods without license.

Presented by: Representative Nancy York

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1125

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Monroe

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Curd, Monroe, Novstrup, Steinhauer, Kennedy, Schoenbeck, and Stalzer

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1125 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1070: modify requirements regarding the installation and inspection of certain electrical wiring.

Presented by: Representative Herman Otten Others: Rick Althoff, self, Sioux Falls

J. J. Linn, South Dakota Electrical Commission

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1070

Moved by: Steinhauer Second by: Schoenbeck

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Curd, Monroe, Novstrup, Steinhauer, Kennedy, Schoenbeck, and Stalzer

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Novstrup

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Beth Fravel, Committee Secretary

/s/ JIM STALZER Jim Stalzer, Chair