Committee: House State Affairs

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Anderson, Rep. Dennert, Rep. Diedrich, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Gosch, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Haugaard, Rep. Kevin Jensen, Rep. McCleerey, Rep. Kent Peterson, Rep. Jamie Smith, Rep. Beal, and Rep. Qualm

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Qualm

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 19TH

Moved by:	Anderson
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1288 : review certain provisions regarding emergency management.

Presented by: Representative Mary Duvall

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1288

Moved by:	Gosch
Second by:	Dennert
Action:	Prevailed by roll call vote (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Dennert, Diedrich, Gosch, Hansen, Haugaard, Kevin Jensen, McCleerey, Kent Peterson, Jamie Smith, Beal, and Qualm

Excused: Goodwin

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1277 AS AMENDED

- Moved by: Haugaard
- Second by: Hansen
- Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (12-0-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Anderson, Dennert, Diedrich, Gosch, Hansen, Haugaard, Kevin Jensen, McCleerey, Kent Peterson, Jamie Smith, Beal, and Qualm

Excused: Goodwin

HB 1250 : increase the state's percentage of video lottery revenues, to provide for the deposit of certain excess revenues, and to repeal provisions regarding video lottery.

Presented by:	Representative John Mills (Handout(s) 1,2,3)
Proponents:	Marilyn Van Zanten, self, Sioux Falls
	Matt Waltz, Keystone Treatment Centers
	Norman Woods, Family Heritage Alliance Action
Opponents:	Mark Quasney, Bureau of Finance and Management

Bob Riter, Music and Vending Association of SD Dick Tieszen, Associated School Boards of SD Matt Krogman, SD License Beverage Dealers and Gaming Association Bill Van Camp, SD Retailers Association

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1250

Moved by: Second by: Action:	Goodwin Hansen Failed by roll call vote (6-5-2-0)
Voting Yes:	Dennert, Goodwin, Hansen, Haugaard, Kevin Jensen, and Qualm
Voting No:	Anderson, Diedrich, Gosch, Kent Peterson, and Beal
Excused:	McCleerey and Jamie Smith

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1250 UNTIL LATER TODAY

HB 1249 : revise certain provisions regarding the operation of the South Dakota Lottery.

Presented by: Representative John Mills

Proponents: Matt Waltz, Keystone Treatment Centers Norman Woods, Family Heritage Alliance Action Opponents: Mark Quasney, Bureau of Finance and Management Larry Mann, M.G. Oil Bill Van Camp, SD Retailers Association Matt Krogman, SD License Beverage Dealers and Gaming Association

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1249 UNTIL LATER TODAY

Committee recessed until session adjourned

MOTION: DEFER HB 1250 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Anderson
Second by:	Goodwin
Action:	Prevailed by roll call vote (8-4-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Anderson, Dennert, Diedrich, Goodwin, Gosch, Kent Peterson, Jamie Smith, and Beal
- Voting No: Hansen, Haugaard, Kevin Jensen, and Qualm
- Excused: McCleerey

MOTION: DEFER HB 1249 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Gosch
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by roll call vote (7-5-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Anderson, Dennert, Diedrich, Gosch, Kent Peterson, Jamie Smith, and Beal
- Voting No: Goodwin, Hansen, Haugaard, Kevin Jensen, and Qualm

Excused: McCleerey

MOTION: AMEND HB 1262

1262A

- On page 2, line 10, of the Introduced bill, delete " municipality's resolution to serve is final" and insert " municipality passes the resolution to serve"
- On page 2, line 12, of the Introduced bill, after "serve" insert ", and the court shall hear the matter on an expedited basis"

On page 2, line 14, of the Introduced bill, after "persons." insert " An abuse of discretion review shall be based upon consideration of the factors set forth in § 49-34A-55. Nothing in this section affects the rights and privileges under § 49-34A-52. 1."

- On page 2, line 15, of the Introduced bill, after "persons." delete "Section 5. That a NEW SECTION be added:
- Failure of electric utility to demand—Acceptance of formula.
- If the electric utility does not demand a hearing pursuant to § 49-34A-49.4, the electric utility shall receive compensation for the service territory previously assigned to the electric utility under the formula set forth in § 49-34A-50.
- "
- On page 2, line 24, of the Introduced bill, delete "and the municipality are unable to agree on compensation to the electric utility for the value of the transfer of service territory and any acquired equipment or distribution property " and insert "has not agreed to accept compensation "
- On page 2, line 27, of the Introduced bill, delete " § 49-34A-52" and insert " § 49-34A-50"
- Moved by: Beal
- Second by: Dennert
- Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1262 : revise provisions regarding electric service in annexed areas.

Presented by: Representative David Anderson (Handout(s) 4,5)

Darla Pollman Rogers, SD Rural Electric Association Proponents: Tim McCarthy, Sioux Valley Energy, Colman (Handout(s) 6,7,8) Chris Larson, Clay-Union Electric Association Linda Salmonson, East River Electric Cooperative Ed Anderson, SD Rural Electric Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives Brenda Forman, South Dakota Cattleman's Association Michael Held, South Dakota Farm Bureau Matt McCaulley, Heartland Consumer Power (Handout(s) 9) Opponents: Casev Crabtree, Heartland Consumer Powers District Al Heuton, Brooking's Economic Development Corporation Jamison Berreth, City of Volga John Prescott, City of Vermillion Steve Lehner, Watertown Municipal Utilities Jacob Meshke, City of Brookings Larry Nelson, Missouri River Energy Services Larry Nelson, SD Municipal Electric Association Drew Duncun, Heartland Consumer Power Districts, Sioux Falls, SD

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1262 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Gosch
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by roll call vote (8-4-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Anderson, Dennert, Gosch, Haugaard, Kevin Jensen, Jamie Smith, Beal, and Qualm
- Voting No: Diedrich, Goodwin, Hansen, and Kent Peterson

Excused: McCleerey

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1261 UNTIL MONDAY, FEBRUARY 24TH 2020

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1221 UNTIL WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 26TH 2020

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Beal Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ LEE QUALM Lee Qualm, Chair