Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, February 18, 2020 10:00

AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Blare, Sen. Ewing, Sen. Foster, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Klumb, Sen. Ernie

Otten, Sen. Soholt, Sen. Youngberg, and Sen. Cammack

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Klumb

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 13TH

Moved by: Youngberg Second by: Ernie Otten

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1033: provide for the prevention of aquatic invasive species contamination in public waters and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Tom Kirschenmann, Department of Game, Fish and Parks (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Jason Simmons, Governor's Office

Lindsey Riter Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems Angela Ehlers, South Dakota Association of Conservation Districts

Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America

Mark Winegar, Sierra Club

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1033

Moved by: Blare Second by: Cammack

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Ewing, Foster, Heinert, Klumb, Ernie Otten, Soholt, Youngberg, and

Cammack

HB 1058: revise certain provisions regarding water development districts.

Presented by: Representative Tina Mulally

Proponents: Jay Gilbertson, East Dakota Water Development District

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1058

Moved by: Ewing

Second by: Ernie Otten

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Ewing, Foster, Heinert, Klumb, Ernie Otten, Soholt, Youngberg, and

Cammack

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1058 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 150: revise nonresident waterfowl licensure.

Presented by: Senator Gary Cammack
Proponents: Mike Shaw, Flatland Flyways

Alex Russo, self, Flatland Flyways

Nathan Sanderson, SD Retailers Association

Lorin Pankratz, South Dakota Visitor Industry Alliance Jasper Diegel, South Dakota Hotel and Lodging Association

Justin Bell, SD Landowners and Outfitters Alliance

Kevin Robling, Department of Game, Fish and Parks (Handout(s) 2 &3)

Kevin Shumaker, Self, Howard, SD

Opponents: Roger Hatliere, self, Pierre

George Vandel, South Dakota Waterfowl Association (Handout(s) 4)

Bill Koupal, self, Pierre

Maddix Hunke, self, Watertown

Zachery T. Hunke, South Dakota Wildlife Federation

John Simpson, self, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 150

Moved by: Ewing Second by: Youngberg

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SB 150 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Soholt Second by: Blare

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (4-5-0-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Foster, Ernie Otten, and Soholt

Voting No: Ewing, Heinert, Klumb, Youngberg, and Cammack

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DO PASS SB 150

Moved by: Ewing Second by: Youngberg

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Ewing, Foster, Heinert, Klumb, Youngberg, and Cammack

Voting No: Blare, Ernie Otten, and Soholt

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Youngberg

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Lois Henry, Committee Secretary

/s/ GARY L. CAMMACK Gary L. Cammack, Chair