Committee: House Taxation Thursday, February 13, 2020 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Duvall, Rep. Chris Johnson, Rep. Mills, Rep. Olson,

Rep. Randolph, Rep. Reed, Rep. Ring, Rep. Jamie Smith, Rep. Dennert, and

Rep. Willadsen

Excused: Rep. David Johnson and Rep. Pischke

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Willadsen

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 11<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Randolph

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1259: revise provisions regarding the discretionary formula for determining the assessed value of property for tax purposes.

Presented by: Representative Kirk Chaffee Proponents: Mike Houdyshell, DOR, Pierre, SD

Julie Johnson, HAPI Homes, Aberdeen, SD

## THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1259

HB 1260: revise provisions regarding tax increment districts.

Presented by: Representative Kirk Chaffee

Proponents: Lesley Coyle, Department of Revenue

Julie Johnson, HAPI Homes, Aberdeen, SD

MOTION: AMEND HB 1260

1260A

On page 1, line 8, of the Introduced bill, delete "aggregate value" and insert "application"

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Dennert

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1260 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Duvall Second by: Mills

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Chaffee, Duvall, Chris Johnson, Mills, Olson, Randolph, Reed, Ring, Jamie

Smith, Dennert, and Willadsen

Excused: David Johnson and Pischke

## HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1260 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

0.1==1.1=1

HB 1274: establish the Tax Revenue Study Task Force to study tax revenue in

this state.

Presented by: Representative Ray Ring

Proponents: David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce

Opponents: Alison Jares, Department of Revenue

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1274

Moved by: Jamie Smith

Second by: Ring

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (2-7-4-0)

Voting Yes: Ring and Willadsen

Voting No: Chaffee, Duvall, Chris Johnson, Mills, Randolph, Reed, and Dennert

Excused: David Johnson, Olson, Pischke, and Jamie Smith

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1274 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Dennert Second by: Reed

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-4-0)

Voting Yes: Chaffee, Duvall, Chris Johnson, Mills, Randolph, Reed, and Dennert

Voting No: Ring and Willadsen

Excused: David Johnson, Olson, Pischke, and Jamie Smith

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Nancy Bugay, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARK WILLADSEN Mark Willadsen, Chair