Committee: House Transportation Tuesday, February 11, 2020 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Chase, Rep. Duvall, Rep. Finck, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. David Johnson,

Rep. Livermont, Rep. Steele, Rep. Weis, Rep. Zikmund, Rep. Lesmeister,

Rep. Anderson, and Rep. Mills

Excused: Rep. Bordeaux

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Mills

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 06TH

Moved by: Duvall Second by: Finck

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1079: authorize a county to assess an administration fee for the processing of certain title applications.

Presented by: Representative Tim Goodwin

Proponents: Janet Sayler, Pennington County Treasurer

Helen Jane Paxton, Sully County Treasurer

Mike Shaw, American Property Casualty Insurance Association

MOTION: AMEND HB 1079

1079C

On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, delete "under" and insert "pursuant to"

On page 1, line 10, of the Introduced bill, after "transfer." insert " The county treasurer shall notify the department within ten days of the adoption of the administration fee. The notification shall include an effective date and the amount of the administration fee."

On page 1, line 12, of the Introduced bill, after "any " insert "insurance company or "

On page 1, line 13, of the Introduced bill, after "Dakota." insert "

Section 2. That a NEW SECTION be added:

32-3A-21.1. Administration fee--Title applications processed by mail.

If an application made to the county treasurer for a certificate of title pursuant to §§ 32-3A-

20 and 32-3A-21 is received and processed entirely by mail, the county treasurer may charge an administration fee for the processing of the title application. An administration fee charged under this section shall be established by resolution of the board of county commissioners and may not exceed twenty-five dollars per title transfer. The county treasurer shall notify the department within ten days of the adoption of an administration fee. The notification shall include the effective date and amount of the administration fee. Any administration fees collected shall be deposited in the county general fund. No administration fee under this section may be charged to any

insurance company or dealer licensed in South Dakota.

Moved by: Finck Second by: Weis

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1079 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Anderson Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Present (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Chase, Duvall, Finck, Goodwin, David Johnson, Livermont, Steele, Weis,

Zikmund, Lesmeister, Anderson, and Mills

Excused: Bordeaux

HB 1150 : increase the annual assessment limits for certain road maintenance and repairs.

Presented by: Representative Tom Pischke

Proponents: Cody Kyriss, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships

Lisa Marso, self, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Lara Williams, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: DEFER HB 1150 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Anderson Second by: Lesmeister

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Present (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Chase, Duvall, Finck, Goodwin, David Johnson, Livermont, Steele, Weis,

Zikmund, Lesmeister, Anderson, and Mills

Excused: Bordeaux

SB 14: revise registration requirements for motor vehicles, motorcycles, snowmobiles, trailers, and semitrailers.

Presented by: Rosa Yaeger, Department of Revenue

MOTION: DO PASS SB 14

Moved by: Finck Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Present (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Chase, Duvall, Finck, Goodwin, David Johnson, Livermont, Steele, Weis,

Zikmund, Lesmeister, and Anderson

Excused: Bordeaux and Mills

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 14 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 15: revise certain provisions regarding the retention of motor vehicle title documents by the Department of Revenue.

Presented by: Rosa Yaeger, Department of Revenue

MOTION: DO PASS SB 15

Moved by: Goodwin Second by: Finck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Present (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Chase, Duvall, Finck, Goodwin, David Johnson, Livermont, Steele, Weis,

Zikmund, Lesmeister, Anderson, and Mills

Excused: Bordeaux

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 15 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Steele Second by: Finck

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Sharon Johnson, Committee Secretary

/s/ JOHN MILLS John Mills, Chair