Committee: House Local Government Tuesday, February 04, 2020 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Barthel, Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Cwach, Rep. Frye-Mueller, Rep. Lana

Greenfield, Rep. Hammock, Rep. Mulally, Rep. Overweg, Rep. Reed, Rep. Reimer, Rep. Sullivan, Rep. York, and Rep. Herman Otten

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Herman Otten

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 23RD

Moved by: Hammock Second by: Reimer

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1097

HB 1050: provide for voter registration through an online voter registration system provided by the Office of the Secretary of State.

Presented by: Steve Barnett, Secretary of State

Proponents: Jennifer Stalley, AARP

Kea Warne, Secretary of State

MOTION: AMEND HB 1050

1050A

On page 1, line 18, of the Introduced bill, after the end of the last paragraph insert

Section 2. This Act is effective on July 1, 2021.

Moved by: Lana Greenfield

Second by: Reed

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1050 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Reed Second by: Hammock

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Chaffee, Cwach, Lana Greenfield, Hammock, Overweg, Reed, Reimer,

Sullivan, York, and Herman Otten

Voting No: Frye-Mueller and Mulally

HB 1051: revise certain provisions regarding public access to voter registration

data.

Presented by: Kea Warne, Secretary of State

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1051

Moved by: Barthel Second by: Chaffee

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Chaffee, Frye-Mueller, Lana Greenfield, Hammock, Mulally, Overweg,

Reed, Reimer, York, and Herman Otten

Voting No: Cwach and Sullivan

HB 1144: remove the requirement for a ballot election in township elections if candidates are unopposed.

Presented by: Representative Tom Pischke

Proponents: Kody Kyriss, SD Association of Towns and Townships

Others: Christine Ericksen, self

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1144

Moved by: York

Second by: Lana Greenfield

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Chaffee, Cwach, Frye-Mueller, Lana Greenfield, Hammock, Mulally,

Overweg, Reed, Reimer, Sullivan, York, and Herman Otten

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Reed

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ HERMAN OTTEN Herman Otten, Chair