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An Act to provide an affirmative defense to pregnant women for certain controlled substance 

offenses. 

 

A prison/jail population cost estimate statement is required for HB1195 because certain 

women convicted of a crime under this bill may be eligible for a Class 6 felony if they have 

been convicted three or more times of certain assault crimes. 

 

The state of Tennessee is the only state currently to have enacted a variation of this 

statute. During a two-year period, Tennessee charged approximately 100 women for fetal 

assault. However, there is no available data on the number of convictions under their law.  

 

In South Dakota, on average, 355 women per year are convicted of an assault charge that 

contributes to the enhanced sentence under § 22-18-1. Of those women, LRC estimates 

that 49 per year commit their second offense.  Eight women per year commit their third 

offense and would already be convicted with this enhanced felony.  

 

In South Dakota, approximately 1% of babies suffer from neonatal abstinence syndrome 

(NAS) or other symptoms of substance abuse dependence. Therefore, LRC estimates that 

the following: 

 

Prior 

Convictions 

Estimated 

Women 

Age 15-44 

Fertility 

Rate per 

Year 

Estimated 

Charges per 

year 

Estimated 

Convictions 

per Year 

No Convictions 180,000 13,752 8 2 (Misdemeanor) 

1 Conviction 249 19 2 1 (Misdemeanor) 

2 Convictions 41 3 0.03 0 (Felony) 

 

Therefore, LRC estimates that this statute, if enacted, would result in 30 additional Class 1 

misdemeanor convictions and one Class 6 felony over the next ten years 

 

Assault convictions under § 22-18-1 are almost exclusively served in jails. The average time 

served in jail for those sent to jail for these types of Class 1 misdemeanors is 26 days, to 

first release. Individuals serving time for these types of offenses are typically housed in 

minimum security facilities, at a cost of $90.26 per day. The annual operating cost for 

housing these additional prisoners, therefore, is $7,040, or $70,403 over 10 years. 

 

Generally, felony assault convictions are served in the penitentiary. LRC estimates that 

there would be one felony conviction every ten years. Convictions under § 22-18-1 are not 

eligible for presumptive probation. The average time served in prison for those sent to 

prison for these types of Class 6 felonies is 501 days, to first release. Individuals serving 

time for these types of offenses are typically housed in minimum security facilities, at a cost 

of $44.86 per day. The LRC estimates zero additional annual operating cost for housing this 

additional prisoner in the first year, and $22,475 over 10 years.  

https://sdlegislature.gov/Legislative_Session/archive.aspx?Session=2020
https://sdlegislature.gov/Legislative_Session/Bills/Default.aspx?Session=2020
https://sdlegislature.gov/Legislative_Session/Bills/Bill.aspx?Bill=1195&Session=2020
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=22-18-1


 

The LRC estimates that no additional construction costs are necessary to meet the 

additional capacity required. 
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