Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, January 28, 2020 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Blare, Sen. Ewing, Sen. Foster, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Klumb, Sen. Ernie

Otten, Sen. Soholt, Sen. Youngberg, and Sen. Cammack

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Cammack

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, JANUARY 20TH

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Youngberg

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 24: revise the fees for pesticide registration, private applicator licenses, commercial applicator licenses, and pesticide dealer licenses.

Presented by: Taya Runyan, Department of Agriculture (Handout(s) #1)

Proponents: Chris Petersen, Department of Agriculture

Opponents: Kathy Zander, South Dakota Agra Business Association

Brenda Foreman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives Lorin Pankratz, South Dakota County Commissioners Association

MOTION: AMEND SB 24

24A

On page 3, line 6, of the Introduced bill, remove the overstrikes from "The secretary of agriculture

shall issue an applicator license to government employees without a license fee. The fee exempt license is valid only when the applicator is applying pesticides in the course

of employment for the governmental entity."

Moved by: Soholt
Second by: Ewing
Action: Withdrawn

MOTION: AMEND SB 24

24B

On page 2, line 10, of the Introduced bill, delete "Forty" and insert "Forty-five"

Moved by: Blare Second by: Youngberg

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: REFER SB 24 TO COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AS AMENDED

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Youngberg

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Present (6-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Foster, Klumb, Ernie Otten, Soholt, Youngberg, and Cammack

Voting No: Blare, Ewing, and Heinert

Kelly Hepler, Secretary of the Department of Game, Fish and Parks, gave an overview of the

department and introduced the staff that was present. (Handouts #2 & 3)

Scott Simpson, Director of Parks, answered a question of the committee.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Heinert Second by: Youngberg

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Lois Henry, Committee Secretary

/s/ GARY L. CAMMACK

Gary L. Cammack, Chair