Committee: House Judiciary Friday, January 24, 2020 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Barthel, Rep. Borglum, Rep. Diedrich, Rep. Hammock, Rep. Latterell,

Rep. Pischke, Rep. Rasmussen, Rep. Reimer, Rep. St. John, Rep. Cwach,

Rep. Pourier, Rep. Johns, and Rep. Hansen

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Hansen

MOTION: Introduce the following bills at the request of the Office of the Chief Justice:

An Act to repeal certain fees charged by a clerk of courts.

An Act to authorize a clerk of courts to provide certain notices by electronic mail.

An Act to create a penalty for violation of a vulnerable adult protection order.

An Act to provide the discharge of certain persons who received a suspended imposition of sentence for a misdemeanor.

An Act to make an appropriation to evaluate the feasibility of the use of telehealth services within the criminal justice system and to declare an emergency.

Moved by: Barthel Second by: Diedrich

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1047: revise certain provisions regarding human trafficking.

Presented by: Kara Semmler, Governor's Office Proponents: Becky Rasmussen, Call to Freedom

> C, self, South Dakota Deb Fischer-Clemens, Avera

Bill Van Camp, SD Retailers Association Debbie Pease, Family Heritage Alliance Action

Matt Walls, Keystone Support Center

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1047 UNTIL LATER DATE

HB 1065: revise drone surveillance protections.

THE CHAIR DEFERRED

HB 1010: revise provisions regarding testimony of qualified mental health professionals at involuntary commitment hearings.

Presented by: Representative Timothy Johns

Proponents: Terry Dosch, SD Council of Community Behavioral Health

Deb Fischer-Clemens, Avera

Jeremy Johnson, Dept. of Social Services

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1010

Moved by: Diedrich Second by: Barthel

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Borglum, Diedrich, Hammock, Latterell, Pischke, Rasmussen, Reimer,

St. John, Cwach, Pourier, Johns, and Hansen

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Pischke Second by: Latterell

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Nancy Bugay, Committee Secretary

/s/ JON HANSEN Jon Hansen, Chair