## 95th Legislative Session - 2020

Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural ResourcesThursday, January 23, 2020 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Blare, Sen. Ewing, Sen. Foster, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Klumb, Sen. Ernie

Otten, Sen. Soholt, Sen. Youngberg, and Sen. Cammack

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Cammack

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 17<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Youngberg

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 24 : revise the fees for pesticide registration, private applicator licenses, commercial applicator licenses, and pesticide dealer licenses.

Presented by: Taya Runyan, Department of Agriculture

Chris Petersen, Department of Agriculture

Proponents: Glen Pulse, self, Vermillion (Handout(s) #1)
Opponents: Scott Guffey, Pennington County (Handout(s) #2)

Lorin Pankratz, South Dakota County Commissioners Association

Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League

**MOTION:** AMEND SB 24

24A

On page 3, line 6, of the Introduced bill, remove the overstrikes from "The secretary of agriculture

shall issue an applicator license to government employees without a license fee. The fee exempt license is valid only when the applicator is applying pesticides in the course

of employment for the governmental entity."

Moved by: Soholt Second by: Ewing

Action: Was not acted on.

THE CHAIR DEFERRED UNTIL TUESDAY, JANUARY 28TH.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Youngberg

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Lois Henry, Committee Secretary

/s/ GARY L. CAMMACK Gary L. Cammack, Chair