State of South Dakota

NINETY-THIRD SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2018

358Z0956

SENATE COMMEMORATION NO. 54

Introduced by: Senators Heinert, Cronin, Curd, Ewing, Frerichs, Greenfield (Brock), Haverly, Kennedy, Killer, Klumb, Kolbeck, Langer, Maher, Nelson, Nesiba, Netherton, Novstrup, Partridge, Rusch, Soholt, Solano, Sutton, Tidemann, White, Wiik, and Youngberg and Representatives Schaefer, Bartling, Beal, Bordeaux, Clark, Dennert, Hawley, Heinemann, Johnson, McCleerey, Rasmussen, Ring, Rozum, Schoenfish, Steinhauer, Tulson, Turbiville, and Wiese

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring and congratulating Nash Hutmacher for winning the Class "A" South Dakota State Wrestling Tournament in 2017 and 2018.

WHEREAS, Nash Hutmacher has continued to work hard and find success, remaining undefeated in 2018 and winning ninety-six consecutive matches, dating all the way back to 2016; and

WHEREAS, Nash was the first freshman ever to receive the wrestler of the year award from the Mitchell Daily Republic in 2017; and

WHEREAS, Nash was the first South Dakotan since 1990 to win the USA Wrestling Cadet Freestyle National Championship; and

WHEREAS, Nash is nationally ranked at #7 and #11 by FlowWrestling and Intermat, respectively and is the only sophomore featured on either list; and

WHEREAS, Nash has performed exceptionally well in other sports and was a 2017 first-team defensive lineman for the all-state football team; and

WHEREAS, Nash's father, Joe Hutmacher, set state records for deadlift and squat at both the 275-pound and 319-pound weight class, and has passed on his exceptional abilities and work ethic to his son; and

WHEREAS, Nash's supportive family and his desire to work hard, both as an athlete and as an individual, has brought him success and will continue to bring him success in the future:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Third Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that Nash Hutmacher be honored and congratulated for his relentless efforts and his victory at the Class "A" South Dakota State Wrestling Tournament in 2017 and 2018.