State of South Dakota

NINETY-SECOND SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2017

255Y0676

HOUSE COMMEMORATION NO. 1026

Introduced by: Representatives Glanzer, Ahlers, Anderson, Bartels, Beal, Bordeaux, Brunner, Campbell, Chase, Clark, Conzet, Dennert, DiSanto, Duvall, Frye-Mueller, Goodwin, Gosch, Greenfield (Lana), Haggar, Haugaard, Hawley, Heinemann, Holmes, Howard, Hunhoff, Jamison, Jensen (Kevin), Johns, Johnson, Kaiser, Karr, Kettwig, Lake, Latterell, Lesmeister, Livermont, Lust, Marty, May, McCleerey, Mickelson, Mills, Otten (Herman), Peterson (Kent), Peterson (Sue), Pischke, Qualm, Rasmussen, Reed, Rhoden, Ring, Rounds, Rozum, Schaefer, Schoenfish, Smith, Soli, Steinhauer, Stevens, Tieszen, Tulson, Turbiville, Wiese, Willadsen, Wismer, York, and Zikmund and Senators White, Bolin, Frerichs, Klumb, Kolbeck, Partridge, Soholt, Stalzer, and Wiik

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring Laura Ingalls Wilder's 150th birthday and the celebration of this milestone in De Smet, South Dakota.

WHEREAS, on February 7, 1867, Laura Ingalls Wilder was born in the big woods of Pepin, Wisconsin, where she lived with her father and mother, Charles and Caroline Ingalls, and older sister Mary; and

WHEREAS, between the years of 1869 to 1879, the Charles and Caroline Ingalls' family traveled westward in search of free land and new opportunities before settling in Kingsbury County, Dakota Territory. It was in De Smet that Laura spent the remainder of her childhood; and

WHEREAS, in 1932, she published *Little House in the Big Woods*, the first of her Little House books. Later, Laura contributed eight more books to her Little House series, including five about her life in South Dakota; and

WHEREAS, in 1957, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Memorial Society was formed in honor of the famous children's author, Laura Ingalls Wilder, who lived in De Smet, South Dakota, from 1879 until roughly 1894; and

WHEREAS, on February 7, 2017, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Memorial Society celebrated Laura's 150th birthday and gave thanks to those who have helped keep Laura's legacy alive; and

WHEREAS, on July 14 and 15, 2017, De Smet will be celebrating the 150-year legacy of Laura Ingalls Wilder with special guests Allison Arngrim and Dean Butler from *The Little House on the Prairie* television show, William Anderson, author and Wilder historian, and Judy

- 2 - HC 1026

Thompson, illustrator for *Pioneer Girl*:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Second Legislature of the State of South Dakota, that the Legislature recognizes Laura Ingalls Wilder's 150th birthday and the celebration of this milestone in De Smet, South Dakota.