## SENATE COMMEMORATION NO. 28

Introduced by: Senators Tidemann, Frerichs, Maher, Nesiba, Rusch, and Russell and Representatives Bartling, Duvall, Hunhoff, Reed, Rounds, and York

A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring the 2017 South Dakota Boys & Girls Clubs of America's Youth of the Year finalists.

WHEREAS, Zoe Frauen, Boys & Girls Club of the Black Hills; Zach Wilhelmi, Boys & Girls Club of Watertown; Ria Gualano, Ellsworth AFB Youth Program; Devika Red Bear, Boys & Girls Club of Aberdeen; Olyvia Burwell, Boys & Girls Club of the Sioux Empire; Tariq Brownotter, Boys & Girls Club of the Grand River Area; Bella Pickner, Boys & Girls Club of the Capital Area; Jade Red Bear, Boys & Girls Club of Rosebud; and Resaiah Cournoyer, Boys & Girls Club of the Missouri River, belong to a Boys & Girls Club in South Dakota and have been selected to represent their respective Boys and Girls Club in the state Youth of the Year Program; and

WHEREAS, the Youth of the Year Program is the Boys & Girls Club of the America's premier youth recognition program for club members who promote and celebrate service to the club, community, and family; as well as academic performance, moral character, life goals, and poise and public speaking ability; and

WHEREAS, Disney, Toyota, the University of Phoenix, and the Taco Bell Foundation for Teens generously sponsor the Boys & Girls Clubs of America's Youth of the Year program; and

WHEREAS, one of these club members will be selected to represent South Dakota in the national Youth of the Year program; and

WHEREAS, these club members have demonstrated exemplary accomplishments in the areas of leadership, community service, character development, academics, fitness, poise and public speaking:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the Ninety-Second Legislature of the



State of South Dakota, that Zoe Frauen, Boys & Girls Club of the Black Hills; Zach Wilhelmi, Boys & Girls Club of Watertown; Ria Gualano, Ellsworth AFB Youth Program; Devika Red Bear, Boys & Girls Club of Aberdeen; Olyvia Burwell, Boys & Girls Club of the Sioux Empire; Tariq Brownotter, Boys & Girls Club of the Grand River Area; Bella Pickner, Boys & Girls Club of the Capital Area; Jade Red Bear, Boys & Girls Club of Rosebud; and Resaiah Cournoyer, Boys & Girls Club of the Missouri River, are to be commended for their outstanding achievements, and that appreciation is extended to Boys & Girls Club of America and Disney, Toyota, the University of Phoenix, and the Taco Bell Foundation for Teens for their work in promoting and celebrating these achievements through the Youth of the Year Program.