HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 1007

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION, Strengthening and expanding sister-state ties between South Dakota and Taiwan; supporting the signing of a Free Trade Agreement (FTA) and a Bilateral Investment Agreement (BIA) with the United States; and reaffirming support for increasing Taiwan's international profile.

WHEREAS, the State of South Dakota and Taiwan entered into a sister-state relationship in 1984; and

WHEREAS, the bonds of true friendship and mutually beneficial trade partnership between the State of South Dakota and Taiwan have been strengthened, resulting in strong economic, social, tourism, and cultural exchanges; and

WHEREAS, negotiations for a Bilateral Investment Agreement between Taiwan and the United States are an important step toward further strengthening bilateral trade and paving the way for entering into a Free Trade Agreement between our countries, thereby increasing South Dakota's exports to Taiwan and promoting bilateral investment; and

WHEREAS, Taiwan, as a responsible stakeholder in the international community, is seeking to meaningfully participate in the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), and the International Criminal Police Organization (INTERPOL);

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the House of Representatives of the Ninety-Second Legislature of the State of South Dakota, the Senate concurring therein, that the Legislature supports Taiwan's mature and vital democracy as well as celebrates the thirty-third anniversary of sister-state relations with Taiwan; endorses the signing of a Free Trade Agreement (FTA) and a Bilateral Investment Agreement (BIA) with the United States; and continues to support Taiwan's appropriate participation in international organizations impacting the health, safety, and well-being of its people.

Adopted by the House of Representatives,
Concurred in by the Senate,

February 14, 2017 February 16, 2017

G. Mark Mickelson Speaker of the House Arlene Kvislen Chief Clerk of the House

Matt Michels
President of the Senate

Kay Johnson Secretary of the Senate