State of South Dakota

NINETY-SECOND SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2017

663Y0249

SENATE BILL NO. 74

- Introduced by: Senators Heinert, Cammack, Ewing, Frerichs, Greenfield (Brock), Haverly, Jensen (Phil), Killer, Rusch, Russell, Soholt, Solano, Stalzer, Sutton, Tidemann, and Wiik and Representatives Livermont, Bartling, Bordeaux, Dennert, Duvall, Haggar, Hawley, Heinemann, Lesmeister, Lust, May, McCleerey, Otten (Herman), Ring, Rounds, Schaefer, Schoenfish, Smith, Soli, and Tieszen
- 1 FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to exempt the elected members of the governing board of
- 2 any federally recognized Indian tribe from the requirement to register as lobbyists.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:
- 4 Section 1. That § 2-12-13 be amended to read:
- 5 2-12-13. This chapter does not apply to any elected member of the governing board of any
- 6 unit of local government, nor or federally recognized Indian tribe. This chapter does not apply
- 7 to any person representing a bona fide church solely for the purpose of protecting the public
- 8 right to practice the religious doctrines of such the church.
- 9 For the purposes of this section, the term, federally recognized Indian tribe, means the
- 10 Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, Crow Creek Sioux Tribe, Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe, Lower
- 11 Brule Sioux Tribe, Oglala Sioux Tribe, Rosebud Sioux Tribe, Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate,
- 12 Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, and Yankton Sioux Tribe.

