

## SOUTH DAKOTA LEGISLATURE

500 EAST CAPITOL AVENUE, PIERRE, SD 57501 | 605-773-3251 | SDLEGISLATURE.GOV

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

**Pierre** – As leaders of the South Dakota House of Representatives and the South Dakota Senate, we are heartbroken by the senseless act of political violence against our fellow lawmakers and neighbors in Minnesota. We stand together to strongly condemn this attack, which has deeply shaken the Minnesota Legislature.

We mourn the tragic loss of Speaker Emerita Melissa Hortman and her husband Mark. Our deepest condolences go out to their loved ones, colleagues, and the people of Minnesota.

We are also keeping Senator John Hoffman and his wife, Yvette, in our prayers as they fight for their lives. We stand with their family and community during this deeply painful time.

In this moment of grief, we also pray for peace, compassion, and a renewed commitment to civility in Minnesota and across our country.

Jon Hansen Chris Karr

Speaker of the House President Pro Tempore

Scott Odenbach Jim Mehlhaff

House Majority Leader Senate Majority Leader

Erin Healy Liz Larson

House Minority Leader Senate Minority Leader

For further information, please contact:

Chris Karr, President Pro Tempore, <a href="mailto:chris.karr@sdlegislature.gov">chris.karr@sdlegislature.gov</a>
Jim Mehlhaff, Senate Majority Leader, <a href="mailto:jim.mehlhaff@sdlegislature.gov">jim.mehlhaff@sdlegislature.gov</a>
Liz Larson, Senate Minority Leader, <a href="mailto:liz.larson@sdlegislature.gov">jiz.larson@sdlegislature.gov</a>
Jon Hansen, Speaker of the House, <a href="mailto:jon.hansen@sdlegislature.gov">jon.hansen@sdlegislature.gov</a>
Scott Odenbach, House Majority Leader, <a href="mailto:scott.odenbach@sdlegislature.gov">scott.odenbach@sdlegislature.gov</a>
Erin Healy, House Minority Leader, <a href="mailto:erin.healy@sdlegislature.gov">erin.healy@sdlegislature.gov</a>