AGENDA

Community Support Providers, State and Federal Efficiencies Interim Committee

Representative Leslie Heinemann, Co-Chair Senator Chris Karr, Co-Chair

Second Meeting, 2025 Interim Wednesday, July 23, 2025 Room 414 – State Capitol Pierre, South Dakota

9:30 AM (CT) Call to Order

Determination of Quorum

Approval of Minutes - June 18, 2025

9:35 AM Conflict-Free Case Management Organizations

Benchmark, LifeScape, Resources for Human Development

10:15 AM Alvarez and Marsal

11:00 AM Discussion and Comments on List of Potential Efficiencies.

The committee will take testimony from the public on each of the following topics individually, with each item allowed approximately thirty minutes. The committee invites any individuals served by the waiver programs, family members, CSP and case management representatives, advocates, and members of the public to testify.

1. Accreditation and State Policy Reviews

Eliminate administrative rules requiring accreditation by a national accrediting body or biennial state policy reviews, or recommend removal of duplicative review activities to streamline oversight.

2. Conflict-Free Case Management

Reduce the responsibilities and administrative burdens placed on conflict-free case managers. Minimize duplication of efforts between case managers and CSPs.

3. Day Services Payment Model - Fee-For-Service vs. Bundled Rate

Recommend alternatives, or that DHS and Alvarez and Marsal evaluate, a fee-for-service rate payment system for day services that more closely aligns with a bundled rate system, while maintaining compliance with CMS fee-for-service requirements.

4. Standardized Documentation System for CSPs and Case Managers

Recommend that all CSPs adopt the documentation system provided by the Division of Developmental Disabilities (Therap).

1:00 PM Lunch

2:30 PM General Public Comments

Committee Discussion and Staff Directives

Adjourn

PLEASE NOTE: The above times are approximate.

Written testimony must be received at least 48 hours prior to the meeting to be considered at the meeting.

Members: Senators Chris Karr, Liz Larson, Lauren Nelson, and Mykala Voita and Representatives Heather Baxter, Leslie Heinemann, Brian Mulder, Nicole Uhre-Balk, and Richard Vasgaard

This meeting is being held in a physically accessible location. Any individual needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) in advance of the meeting to make further arrangements.

All committee agendas, minutes, and audio are available on the LRC website: https://www.sdlegislature.gov/. Live committee audio is provided by SDPB and is also available at https://www.sdlegislature.gov/. Live committee audio is provided by SDPB and is also available at https://www.sdlegislature.gov/. Live committee audio is provided by SDPB and is also available at https://www.sd.net/. You may subscribe to electronic delivery of agendas and minutes at My LRC on the LRC website.