

2025 South Dakota Legislature

Senate Commemoration 818

Introduced by: **Senators** Sauder, Crabtree, Perry, and Schoenfish and **Representatives** Emery, Fitzgerald, Jordan, Moore, Reisch, Roe, and Uhre-Balk

1	A LEGISLATIVE COMMEMORATION, Honoring the Hamlin Chargers for their 2024
2	state championship in Class 9AA football.
3	WHEREAS, the Hamlin Chargers defeated the Parkston Trojans 32 to 8 in the 2024 Class
4	9AA title game at the DakotaDome in November; and
5	WHEREAS, Hamlin finished the season with a perfect record of twelve wins and no losses;
6	<u>and</u>
7	WHEREAS, the loss gave Parkston a record of eleven wins and one loss for the season and
8	ended Parkston's winning streak of twenty-three games; and
9	WHEREAS, Hamlin Chargers quarterback Jackson Wadsworth finished the 2024 title game
10	with two hundred and sixteen yards, including a touchdown pass, earning him the Joe Robbie
11	MVP award; and
12	WHEREAS, Hamlin's Turner Stevenson rushed for fifty-seven yards and scored twice, while
13	Evan Stormo added eighty receiving yards and Boden Stevenson added a receiving
14	touchdown; and
15	WHEREAS, Hamlin kicker Easton Neuendorf set a new Class 9AA title game record when
16	he kicked a forty-five-yard field goal; and
17	WHEREAS, Hamlin's Dawson Noem was named the outstanding lineman of the game; and
18	WHEREAS, the Parkston team had averaged more than two hundred and seventy-five
19	yards per game in the eleven games leading up to the championship, but was held to ninety
20	yards on thirty-three carries during the championship against Hamlin; and
21	WHEREAS, Hamlin head coach Jeff Sheehan praised his team for playing a nearly perfect
22	game;

- 1 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT COMMEMORATED, by the One Hundredth Legislature of the State
- 2 <u>of South Dakota, that the Hamlin Chargers are the Class 9AA state football champions.</u>