Minutes: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, March 06, 2025 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Davis, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Marty, Sen. Rohl, Sen. Voight,

Sen. Jensen (Kevin), and Sen. Pischke

The meeting was called to order by Senator Davis

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, MARCH 04<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Voight Second by: Rohl

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HAVEN STUCK OF PENNINGTON COUNTY, RAPID CITY, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BRAND BOARD

Presented by: Megan Goltz, Governor's Office

Others: Haven Stuck, South Dakota Brand Board

**MOTION:** THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT

OF HAVEN STUCK OF PENNINGTON COUNTY, RAPID CITY, SOUTH

DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BRAND BOARD

Moved by: Voight Second by: Rohl

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-0-3-0)

Voting Yes: Davis, Marty, Rohl, and Voight

Excused: Duhamel, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED THE APPOINTMENT OF HAVEN STUCK OF PENNINGTON COUNTY, RAPID CITY, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BRAND BOARD AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

JARROD JOHNSON OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, GARRETSON, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BRAND BOARD

Presented by: Megan Goltz, Governor's Office Proponents: Justin Nagel, Self, Ft. Pierre

Doris Lauing, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Hunter Roberts, Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Others: Jarrod Johnson, Self, Garretson

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF

JARROD JOHNSON OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, GARRETSON, SOUTH

DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BRAND BOARD

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Marty Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-0-3-0)

Voting Yes: Davis, Marty, Rohl, and Voight

Excused: Duhamel, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

## LYLE SPRING OF MEADE COUNTY, UNION CENTER, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BRAND BOARD

Presented by: Megan Goltz, Governor's Office Opponents: Representative Jana Hunt

Amber Haskew, Self, Mobridge

**MOTION:** THAT THE SENATE DO NOT ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE

APPOINTMENT OF LYLE SPRING OF MEADE COUNTY, UNION CENTER,

**SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BRAND BOARD** 

Moved by: Marty Second by: Voight

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Davis, Marty, Rohl, Voight, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

Voting No: Duhamel

Gavel was passed from Davis to Pischke.

## HB 1266: attach the South Dakota State Brand Board to the Office of School and Public Lands.

Presented by: Representative Jana Hunt (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Representative Spencer Gosch

Doris Lauing, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City Raydelle Sperle, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Mitch Richter, South Dakota Farmers Union, Huron

Representative Liz May

Bryce Dibbern, South Dakota Livestock Auction Markets Association, Interior

Amber Haskew, Self, Mobridge (Handout(s) 2)

Bryan Hanson, Self, Ft. Pierre

Chuck J. Willard, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Ray O'Day, Self, Blunt Tom Costello, Self, Newell

Opponents: Megan Goltz, Governor's Office

Hunter Roberts, Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

(Handout(s) 3)

Taya Runyan, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre Matthew M. Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Todd Mortenson, Self, Hayes

Debbie Trapp, South Dakota Brand Board

Matt Clair, Self, Ft. Pierre

Scott Vance, South Dakota Brand Board

Others: Russell Olson, Self, Pierre

Brock Greenfield, Commissioner, School and Public Lands

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1266 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Duhamel Second by: Davis

Action: Was not acted on.

**MOTION:** SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1266

Moved by: Marty Second by: Voight

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Marty, Voight, and Pischke

Voting No: Davis, Duhamel, Rohl, and Jensen (Kevin)

## **Revert to previous motion**

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1266 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Duhamel Second by: Davis

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Davis, Duhamel, Rohl, and Jensen (Kevin)

Voting No: Marty, Voight, and Pischke

## HB 1213: increase the maximum amount allowable for the livestock ownership inspection fee and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Marty Overweg

Proponents: Debbie Trapp, South Dakota Brand Board

Cheyenne Tant, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Todd Mortenson, Self, Hayes

Raydelle Sperle, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Taya Runyan, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre

Tyler Fritz, Self, Belle Fourche

Florence K. Thompson, SD Citizens for Liberty, Rapid City

Matthew M. Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Scott Vance, South Dakota Brand Board

Opponents: Bryan Hanson, Fort Pierre Livestock Auction

Bryce Dibbern, South Dakota Livestock Auction Markets Association, Interior

Representative Jana Hunt

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1213

Moved by: Duhamel Second by: Davis

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (2-5-0-0)

Voting Yes: Davis and Duhamel

Voting No: Marty, Rohl, Voight, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1213 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Jensen (Kevin)

Second by: Rohl

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Marty, Rohl, Voight, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

Voting No: Davis and Duhamel

HB 1165: provide a means by which an agricultural producer may request an automatic refund of an assessment on crops.

Presented by: Representative Spencer Gosch Proponents: Jay Poindexter, Self, Ree Heights

Linda Schauer, Self, Leola Kevin Crisp, Self, Dell Rapids Lora Zwart, Self, Colman

Opponents: Mitch Richter, South Dakota Corn Growers Association, Sioux Falls

(Handout(s) 4)

Cash Anderson, South Dakota Wheat Growers Association, Pierre (Handout(s)

5)

Taylor Sumpton, Self, Fredrick

Brian Walsh, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1165 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Davis Second by: Rohl

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Davis, Duhamel, and Rohl

Voting No: Marty, Voight, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1165

Moved by: Jensen (Kevin)

Second by: Pischke

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Marty, Voight, Jensen (Kevin), and Pischke

Voting No: Davis, Duhamel, and Rohl

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Rohl

Second by: Jensen (Kevin)

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources	Thursday, March 06, 2025 10:00 AM
Lexie Schumacher, Committee Secretary	
	/s/ TOM PISCHKE
	Tom Pischke, Chair