Minutes: House Taxation Tuesday, March 04, 2025 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bathke, Rep. Massie, Rep. Mortenson, Rep. Czmowski, Rep. Reder,

Rep. Roe, Rep. Walburg, Rep. Weems, Rep. Weisgram, Rep. Pourier, and

Rep. Aylward

Excused: Rep. Randolph and Rep. Hughes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Aylward

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 20<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Walburg Second by: Weisgram

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 90: clarify provisions regarding tax deeds.

Presented by: Representative Curt Massie

Proponents: Roger A. Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Officials, Pierre

Deb Tridle, Self, Lead

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 90

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Czmowski

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-0-3-0)

Voting Yes: Bathke, Massie, Mortenson, Czmowski, Reder, Walburg, Weems, Weisgram,

Pourier, and Aylward

Excused: Randolph, Roe, and Hughes

## HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 90 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 169: require a public hearing prior to a vote to impose an excess tax levy.

Presented by: Senator Amber Hulse

Proponents: Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Jennifer Beving, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Heath Larson, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

**MOTION:** DEFER SB 169 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Bathke Second by: Mortenson

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (6-5-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bathke, Mortenson, Czmowski, Roe, Weems, and Weisgram

Voting No: Massie, Reder, Walburg, Pourier, and Aylward

Excused: Randolph and Hughes

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 169

Moved by: Pourier Second by: Reder

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (5-6-2-0)

Voting Yes: Massie, Reder, Walburg, Pourier, and Aylward

Voting No: Bathke, Mortenson, Czmowski, Roe, Weems, and Weisgram

Excused: Randolph and Hughes

**MOTION: WITHOUT RECOMMENDATION SB 169** 

Moved by: Weems Second by: Mortenson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bathke, Massie, Mortenson, Czmowski, Reder, Roe, Walburg, Weems,

Weisgram, Pourier, and Aylward

Excused: Randolph and Hughes

SB 178: increase a tax on aviation gasoline and jet fuel.

Presented by: Senator Joy Hohn (Handout(s) #1, #2, #3, #4)

Proponents: Representative Tesa Schwans

Katie Sieverding, Sioux Falls Airport Authority, Sioux Falls (Handout(s) #1)

Mitch Rave, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls Justin G. Smith, Tourism Coalition of South Dakota, Yankton

David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Pierre

Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City

Jessica Carr, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Patrick Dame, Rapid City Regional Airport Dan Letellier, Sioux Falls Regional Airport

Opponents: Brandy Miesner, Bureau of Finance and Management

Joe Hughes, Self, Mesa, AZ

Allison Corbin, WestJet Air Center, Inc, Rapid City Mizraim Cordero, United Airlines, Denver, CO Sarah Gonzales, Delta Air Lines, Haslett, MI

Sean Williams, Airlines for America, Hartford, CT (Handout(s) #1)

MOTION: DEFER SB 178 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Weems

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-4-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bathke, Mortenson, Reder, Walburg, Weems, Weisgram, and Aylward

Voting No: Massie, Czmowski, Roe, and Pourier

Excused: Randolph and Hughes

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Roe

Second by: Czmowski

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Leah Splichal, Committee Secretary

/s/ AARON AYLWARD Aaron Aylward, Chair